Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada

Young Thymen Arensman dropped the breakaway to solo to the top, his 2nd professional win, the first in a Grand Tour! Primoz Roglic took back more time from Remco Evenepoel

Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada

After 90 km of attacks, a big group of 23 riders went up the road, including several GC favorites; Jai Hindley Louis Meintjes, David De La Cruz, Richard Carapaz, Rigoberto Uran and Hugh Carthy.

Lawson Craddock (BikeExchange-Jayco) went solo with 78km to go.

On the 2nd climb of the day: Alto del Purche, Lawson Craddock  went solo and built a lead of 1m 20s ahead of the rest of the breakaway.

Jay Vine attacked to try and catch Lawson Craddock before the top of Alto del Purche and just caught him in time, to take the max KOM points.

The breakaway chasers Hindley, Arensman, Meintjes, Carapaz, Soler, Reichenbach, Uran, Mäder, Vervaeke, De La Cruz got back to Craddock and Vine with 28km to go.

In the peloton behind, the question on everyone's mind was Primož Roglic going to attack, win the stage and add a significant dent to Evenepoel's overall lead?

With 22km to go, Mark Soler attacked out of the breakaway and went solo, on the the Alto de Hazallanas as gradients hit 15%.

Behind Jumbo Visma lifted the pace, Evenepoel quickly closed the gap and stamped his authority on the race.

Ayuso, Landa and Valverde started to struggle and were dropped from the peloton with over 18 km to go.

With 10.5 km to go, Lopez put in a MASSIVE attack, leaving Roglic and Evenepoel behind. Enric Mas was the next to attack!

Behind, Vervaeke set the pace for Evenepoel and Roglic. 

Arensman caught Soler with 7km to go, behind Mas and Lopez chased and so did the group of  Evenepoel, O'Connor and Roglic.

Up front, Arensman pushed on and opened up a lead of 1m 25s with 3km to go over the chase group.

Behind, Roglic has attacked Evenepoel and opened up a gap.

Arensman won the stage, behind Lopez, Mas and Vine the first group to cross the line and then Roglic, who took 15 secs time back from Evenpoel.

VIDEO: Stage 15 Highlights

Stage 15 Top 10

1 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM 04:17:17
2 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 01:23
3 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 01:25
4 AUS Jay Vine Alpecin-Deceuninck + 01:30
5 SLO Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma + 01:44
6 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 01:44
7 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 01:55
8 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 01:55
9 RSA Louis Meintjes Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert + 01:55
10 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team + 01:59

GC after Stage 15

01 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 56:40:49
02 SLO Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma + 01:34
03 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 02:01
04 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 04:49
05 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 05:16
06 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 05:24
07 POR Joao Almeida UAE Team Emirates + 07:00
08 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM + 07:05
09 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 08:57
10 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 11:36

Tag: vuelta
Nov 04 2022 - NEWS: Rumoured Tourmalet stage finish at the 2023 Vuelta a España
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel seals Vuelta a Espana Victory!
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!
Sep 09 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead
Sep 08 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel closer to outright La Vuelta victory with stage 18 win
Sep 07 2022 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta
Sep 06 2022 - NEWS: Pedersen Wins Sprint, Evenepoel Punctures and Roglic Crashes!
Sep 04 2022 - NEWS: Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada!
Sep 03 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel cracks! Carapaz Attacks! Roglic takes back time!
Sep 02 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen soars to Victory on uphill finish In Montilla
Sep 01 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz cracks out huge comeback as Evenepoel crashes
Aug 31 2022 - NEWS: Kaden Groves wins stage 11 as Yates and Alaphilippe leave La Vuelta
Aug 30 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial
Aug 28 2022 - NEWS: Meintjes conquers Les Praeres as Evenepoel takes time on his GC rivals
Aug 27 2022 - NEWS: Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 29 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Vuelta a San Juan
Aug 26 2023 - EVENT: 2023 La Vuelta
Sep 09 2023 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala