Benoit Cosnefroy sprints to Grand Prix de Quebec in Style

Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroen) soloed to victory in style at the Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec on Friday. The Frenchman took the win by four seconds ahead of Michael Matthews and Biniam Girmay

Benoit Cosnefroy sprints to Grand Prix de Quebec in Style

Benoît Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën Team) claimed a sensational win at the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec after a daring attack with 2km to go. The former U23 world champion timed his attack perfectly, going clear on the final climb before holding off a late chase from the remnants of the main field.

Michael Matthews and Biniam Girmay completed the podium, “It’s incredible. I’m not sure what happened but I didn’t think I could win like that,” Cosnefroy said at the finish.

“I wanted to attack and it was planned but we had Greg van Avermaet for the sprint so I was to play my cards first and it worked out. I’m really happy to win here.”

Cosnefroy’s attack came after the last few laps around the Canadian city which saw several attacks.

The Frenchman held onto a small gap, behind Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma) tried to bridge across with a handful of riders.

Laporte looked back to see that teammate and favorite Wout Van Aert wasn't there and slowed, this gave Cosnefroy the advantage inside the final km.

The rest of the peloton to mounted a chase but it was too late,Cosnefroy holding on to take one of the biggest wins of his career.

Michael Matthews and Biniam Girmay completed the podium, Van Aert in fourth place on the line.

VIDEO: 2022 Grand Prix de Quebec Highlights

2022 Grand Prix de Quebec Top 10

1 COSNEFROY Benoît AG2R Citroën Team 4:46:56
2 MATTHEWS Michael Team BikeExchange - Jayco 0:04
3 GIRMAY Biniam Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux 0:04
4 VAN AERT Wout Jumbo-Visma 0:04
5 GARCÍA CORTINA Iván Movistar Team 0:04
6 HONORÉ Mikkel Frølich Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 0:04
7 YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 0:04
8 BETTIOL Alberto EF Education-EasyPost 0:04
9 ULISSI Diego UAE Team Emirates 0:04
10 BARGUIL Warren Team Arkéa Samsic 0:04

Tag: classics
Apr 21 2024 - NEWS: Pogacar attacks to solo to Liège-Bastogne-Liège Victory
Apr 20 2024 - NEWS: Pogacar and Van der Poel headline 2024 Liège-Bastogne-Liège
Apr 17 2024 - NEWS: Welsh Wonder Stephen Williams Strikes to win 2024 Flèche Wallonne
Apr 14 2024 - NEWS: Tom Pidcock finally wins the Amstel Gold Race
Apr 13 2024 - NEWS: Van der Poel favorite for Amstel Gold Race
Apr 10 2024 - NEWS: Benoît Cosnefroy wins 64th edition of De Brabantse Pijl
Apr 07 2024 - NEWS: World champion Mathieu van der Poel defends Paris-Roubaix title
Apr 06 2024 - NEWS: Lotte Kopecky outsprints Balsamo and Vos in Roubaix Velodrome
Apr 04 2024 - NEWS: Welcome to Hell: The 2024 Paris-Roubaix Preview
Apr 04 2024 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel not happy with 180 degree Arenberg Trench Chicane
Apr 03 2024 - NEWS: Tim Merlier sprints to Scheldeprijs success
Apr 02 2024 - NEWS: Spinters get ready for a flat and windy Scheldeprijs
Mar 31 2024 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel wins Tour of Flanders for a third time
Mar 28 2024 - NEWS: Kopecky and Van der Poel are back for 2024 Tour of Flanders
Mar 27 2024 - NEWS: Tiesj Benoot Takes The Blame for high speed Dwars door Vlaanderen horror crash
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Feb 16 2020 - EVENT: Willesden CC Reliability Rides
Feb 24 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Feb 25 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Kuurne Brussels Kuurne
Mar 13 2024 - EVENT: 2024 MilanoTorino
Mar 16 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Milano Sanremo
Mar 22 2024 - EVENT: 2024 E3 Saxo Classic
Mar 24 2024 - EVENT: 2024 GentWevelgem
Mar 27 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Dwars Door Vlaanderen
Mar 31 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Tour Of Flanders
Apr 03 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Scheldeprijs
Apr 07 2024 - EVENT: 2024 ParisRoubaix
Apr 10 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Brabantse Pijl
Apr 14 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Amstel Gold Race
Apr 17 2024 - EVENT: 2024 La Fleche Wallonne
Apr 21 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Liege–Bastogne–Liege