Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain

EF Education-EasyPost's Alberto Bettiol stayed upright and in the hotseat to take the first WorldTour Stage win in 2023 on the slippery streetys of Adelaide 

Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain

The opening stage of the 2023 Tour Down Under kicked off with a technical, tight and tricky 5.5km circuit around the street of Adelaide.

Italian Bettiol set one of the early fastest times that no one could match as conditions deteriorated.

At least a dozen riders went down on one particular corner, a lot of them dropping chains and losing time.

Bettiol set a staggering 52 kph average on the technical course, behind America Magnus Sheffield was just 5 seconds behind, and Swiss pro Julius Johansen was third.

As the conditions worsened, so did riders times.

favorites including Ethan Hayter, Rohan Dennis and Luke Plapp were well outside the Top 10.

Tomorrow's stage should suit the sprinters and will see Bettiol in the leaders jersey of the race. Small differences made in the opening day will be important for the overall classification.

Just us tomorrow for Stage 1 for a 149km fairly flat course around Tanunda.

VIDEO: 2023 Tour Down Under Prologue Highlights

2023 Tour Down Under Prologue Top 10

1 ITA Alberto Bettiol EF Education-EasyPost 06:19
2 USA Magnus Sheffield INEOS Grenadiers + 08
3 DEN Julius Johansen Intermarché-Circus-Wanty + 10
4 AUS Kaden Groves Alpecin-Deceuninck + 11
5 NZL Samuel Gaze Alpecin-Deceuninck + 11
6 FRA Hugo Page Intermarché-Circus-Wanty + 12
7 GER Marius Mayrhofer Team DSM + 13
8 GER Jannik Steimle Soudal Quick-Step + 13
9 AUS Jay Vine UAE Team Emirates + 14
10 AUS Michael Matthews Team Jayco-AlUla + 14

Tag: tourdownunder
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Jay Vine wins Tour Down Under fine style
Jan 21 2023 - NEWS: France’s Coquard wins Stage 4 as Jany leads Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2023 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis breaks away to win 2nd stage and take Tour Down Under lead
Jan 18 2023 - NEWS: Bauhaus beats Ewan to win first Tour Down Under Stage
Jan 17 2023 - NEWS: Alberto Bettiol wins treacherous Tour Down Under Prologue in the Rain
Dec 15 2022 - NEWS: Hindley, Froome, Thomas and Yates headline 2023 Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 26 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins a second Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 25 2020 - NEWS: Impey takes race lead as Nizzolo wins Sprint Down Under
Jan 24 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins second Tour Down Under stage
Jan 23 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte takes Tour Down Under lead with uphill stage 3 win
Jan 22 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Storms to Stage 2 Victory at the Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett wins Tour Down Under opening Sprint Stage
Jan 19 2020 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins Tour Down Under prologue
Jan 17 2020 - NEWS: Specialized launch new Tour Down Under Collection ahead of Race
Jan 17 2020 - NEWS: Richie Porte: This going to be the hardest Tour Down Under yet
Jan 12 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Santos Tour Down Under