Miguel Ángel López wins the Vuelta San Juan

Stage 7 was a repetition of the penultimate day of racing as Team DSM's Sam Welsford won another strong sprint win

Miguel Ángel López wins the Vuelta San Juan

The stage was decided in the final meters, as Miguel Ángel López has consolidated the overall classification.

The short stage started out with a tribute to local legend Max Richeze, before the breakaway set off with three riders on the short and explosive stage around the city of San Juan.

It was a calm day until the final 15 kilometers.

Remco Evenepoel and Quinn Simmons attacked out of the peloton with little to no response. Despite being a two-man move, the peloton could not contain the attack and the gap grew to as much as 30 seconds, but the pair where reeled in with 3 kilometers to go as they ran out of gas.

Michael Morkov had an early attack in the sprint with Team DSM roviding a strong leadout.

Welsford jumped from the wheel of Giacomo Nizzolo who launched his sprint early and first to cross the finish line ahaed of Fabio Jakobsen finished second as he hit a phone from the crowd.

Miguel Ángel López was confirmed the winner of the overall classification, with Filippo Ganna and Sergio Higuita wrapping up the podium.

VIDEO: 2023 Vuelta San Juan Stage 7 Final

2023 Vuelta San Juan Stage 7 Top 10

1 AUS Sam Welsford Team DSM 02:33:41
2 NED Fabio Jakobsen Soudal Quick-Step + 00
3 ITA Giacomo Nizzolo Israel-Premier Tech + 00
4 KAZ Yevgeniy Gidich Astana Qazaqstan Team + 00
5 NED Danny van Poppel BORA-hansgrohe + 00
6 ITA Attilio Viviani Team Corratec + 00
7 ITA Giovanni Lonardi EOLO-Kometa Cycling Team + 00
8 SVK Peter Sagan TotalEnergies + 00
9 ESP Jon Aberasturi Trek-Segafredo + 00
10 ITA Enrico Zanoncello Green Project-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè + 00

2023 Vuelta San Juan GC after Stage 7 Top 10

1  LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Team Medellin - EPM 0:00
2  GANNA Filippo INEOS Grenadiers 0:30
3  HIGUITA Sergio BORA - hansgrohe 0:44
4  RUBIO Einer Augusto Movistar Team 0:50
5  RIVERA Brandon Smith INEOS Grenadiers 1:01
6  PAREDES César Nicolás Sindicato de Empleados Públicos of San Juan 1:19
7  EVENEPOEL Remco Soudal - Quick Step 1:19
8  VERMAERKE Kevin Team DSM 1:30
9  RICCITELLO Matthew Israel - Premier Tech 1:41
10  SIMMONS Quinn Trek - Segafredo 1:46

Tag: vueltasanjuan
Jan 29 2023 - NEWS: Miguel Ángel López wins the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 28 2023 - NEWS: Sam Wlesford takes surprising stage win at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 27 2023 - NEWS: Miguel Angel Lopez attacks to win Queen Stage and take Leader's Jersey
Jan 25 2023 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria finally gets a stage win at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 24 2023 - NEWS: Quinn Simmons attacks in the last km to win stage 3
Jan 23 2023 - NEWS: Fabio Jakobsen wins Stage 2 Sprint at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Sam Bennett sprints to 2023 Vuelta San Juan Stage 1 Victory
Dec 22 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel confirms season debut at the Vuelta San Juan
Dec 02 2021 - NEWS: 39th Edition of Vuelta San Juan will kickstart 2022 Racing Season
Jan 12 2021 - NEWS: First 2021 Pro race the Vuelta a San Juan cancelled due to Coronavirus
Dec 17 2020 - NEWS: Chris Froome to debut with Israel Start-Up Nation at the Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 07 2020 - NEWS: Five hundred fans rode the Sagan Fondo at the la Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 03 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel wins Vuelta a San Juan as Gavria beats Sagan in Final Sprint
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel retains lead as Florez claims Queen stage at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 21 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Vuelta A San Juan