Gran Fondo Asheville, July 17, 2022 - Limited Places! Register NOW!
United States >> 2022 Tour De France LIVE

Please click here to refresh the video if play stops. For sound, please unmute on video controls.

Stage 2 - Roskilde to Nyborg - 202 km Flat

13:39 CET, 07:39 US EST  -  Reminder of the breakaway: Magnus Cort (EF Education-EasyPost), Pierre Rolland, Cyril Barthe (B&B Hotels-KTM), Sven Erik Bystrøm (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert)

12:58 CET, 06:58 US EST  -  The riders tackle three 4th category climbs of Côte d’Asnæs Indelukke, Côte d’Høve Stræde and Côte de Kårup Strandbakke within 25 kilometres after 60km of racing

12:56 CET, 06:56 US EST  -  Intermediate sprint at Kalunborg after 127km of racing

12:56 CET, 06:56 US EST  -  For man breakaway nearing 2 minutes advantage

12:47 CET, 06:47 US EST  -  QuickStep, BikeExchange, and Lotto unsurprisingly are at the head of the peloton

12:44 CET, 06:44 US EST  -  Massive crowds in Denmark, wow!

12:43 CET, 06:43 US EST  -  Looks like the peloton is happy with the breakaway, the sun is shining!

12:41 CET, 06:41 US EST  -  Breakaway: 4 riders get away Barthe, Bystrom, Rolland and Nielsen

12:40 CET, 06:40 US EST  -  Pierre Rolland gets in the break looking to pick up the 1 KOM point on offer!

12:40 CET, 06:40 US EST  -  Start of stage 2, three riders attack to get in the breakaway!

12:28 CET, 06:28 US EST  -  3.5 km to go before we start racing

12:18 CET, 06:18 US EST  -  Nuetralized roll-out has started

12:09 CET, 06:09 US EST  -  Favourites for the sprint stage win:

***** Fabio Jakobsen
**** Caleb Ewan, Dylan Groenewegen
*** Jasper Philipsen, Mads Pedersen, Wout Van Aert
** Peter Sagan, Alexander Kristoff, Danny Van Poppel
* Mathieu van der Poel, Magnus Cort, Alberto Dainese, Michael Matthews

12:08 CET, 06:08 US EST  -  Two EF Education Easy Post lose to two staff members to positive COVID tests this morning.

12:08 CET, 06:08 US EST  -  The sprinters teams are going to fight to stay at the front in the finale. GC riders are going to have to stay at the front all day. Hopefully there won't be any crashes!

12:07 CET, 06:07 US EST  -  Expect a nervous stage today, which will climax on the Belt Bridge, the finish line comes 3km afterwards.

11:21 CET, 05:21 US EST  -  Here's the stage map, the route is close to the sea a lot of the time, if it's windy, it could be chaos!

11:19 CET, 05:19 US EST  -  Stage 2 today is pretty flat, but also exposed to the wind, the 202km stage climaxes with a crossing of the great belt bridge into Nyborg.

11:19 CET, 05:19 US EST  -  Good morning folks!

Saturday 2 July - The 2nd stage at La Tour is another test in Denmark. The 199 kilometres travels from Roskilde to Nyborg. Altough featuring some modest climbs, a bunch sprint is the most likely outcome.

The riders clip into their pedals in Roskilde, some 30 kilometres west of Copenhagen. They continue further west to enter the Odsherred peninsula, which landscape was formed 17,000 years ago during the latter part of the last glacial period. The only three classified cimbs are situated in this region.

The riders tackle the Côte d’Asnæs Indelukke, Côte d’Høve Stræde and Côte de Kårup Strandbakke within 25 kilometres before the route continues on the flat towards the finish in Nyborg. Just one obstacle could shake things up a but. Actually, the Storebælbro is not a climb at all, it’s a 18 kilometres long bridge across the Great Belt that links together the eastern and western parts of Denmark. But since it’s extremely exposed the wind could have an impact. Moreover, the Storebælbro does climb, although at shallow gradients.

2022 Tour de France Lastest News