2022 Bikes & Beers Series - REGISTER NOW!
United States >> 2022 La Vuelta LIVE

Dutch Delight as 2022 Vuelta A Espana Route Revealed

The 21-stage race will also include nine high-altitude finishes, five of which will feature for the first time. Seven mountain stages, eight summit finishes, six flat stages and two time trials and a return to Madrid will test the athletes in the Grand Tour

La Vuelta starts on 19th August and concludes on 11th September 2022. For only the fourth time in its history, the Spanish Grand Tour will start outside of Spain, with the Dutch cities of Utrecht, s-Hertogenbosch and Breda hosting the opening three stages.  

First Week

After the rest day, during which the teams will travel to Spain, the race will be on in the Basque country. The riders shall face the ever changeable weather and the first climbs. 

The first summit finish will come in Cantabria with Pico Jano. Two brutal climbs await them in Asturias including the brand new Colláu Fancuaya and Les Praeres.

Second Week

A 30-kilometre individual time trial will be held after the second rest day starting the seond week, with riders taking a route from Elche to Alicante.

The regions of Murcia and Andalusia will also feature in the second week.

Then the peloton will head to the Sierra Nevada mountain range including the Sierra Nevada itself as well as the Peñas Blancas and La Pandera.

Third Week

The 188km flat stage from Sanlúcar de Barrameda and Tomares, which will launch the final week of racing, was among those highlighted by race organisers. The final week will bring about some more climbing in the Extramadura and then we‘re off to the region of Madrid.

A mountain stage at Talavera de la Reina is claimed to offer a high-altitude finish on stage 19, with the race winner set to be known the following day after the conclusion of a mountain stage from Moralzarzal to Puerto de Navacerrada.

The general classification winner will be crowned after the traditional final stage in Madrid.

Slovenia’s Primož Roglic has won the past three editions of the Vuelta a España.



2020 La Vuelta Lastest News