Gran Fondo Florida, March 17, 2024 - FIND OUT MORE!
United States >> 2024 Pro Cycling Classics

Welsh Wonder Stephen Williams Strikes to win 2024 Flèche Wallonne

It was undoubtedly the toughest edition of Flèche Wallonne in recent memory, and yet Stevie Williams looked completely unflustered as he became the first British male rider to win the Belgian Classic on Wednesday in atrocious conditions


The Welshman rode brilliantly throughout, and notably attacked on the third of four ascents of the Mur de Huy to form part of a short-lived chase group that ultimately helped reel in a lone rider in the closing 10 kilometers.

Williams, who tackled the race’s arduous finishing climb in his Ekoï gloves, leg warmers, and rain jacket, kicked with 275 meters remaining the final time up the Mur and crossed the line with enough time to celebrate. Having claimed IPT’s first UCI WorldTour stage race victory at the Tour Down Under in January, the Brit now has the team’s maiden win in a UCI WorldTour one-day race to his name.

“What a day, what a day, I’m so happy right now,” said Williams. “I just can’t believe I just won Flèche. I’ve been watching this race for years and I’ve always wanted to come here with decent legs to try and win it. Today, with the weather, I enjoy racing in these conditions, and I’m just over the moon.

“The boys backed me all day and they gave me the best chance to try and do a result today. Everybody was waiting [on the Mur de Huy] with about 300 [meters] to go, so I thought if I could get a jump here and put five or 10 seconds into the group, it could give me a good chance to hold on. I was looking around a bit because the legs were empty, but I’m really happy to hold on. I’m exhausted, lost for words, and a bit emotional really. To win bike races is hard, especially here at the Classics.”

2024 Flèche Wallonne Top 10

1  WILLIAMS Stephen Israel - Premier Tech 4:40:24
2  VAUQUELIN Kévin Arkéa - B&B Hotels 0:00
3  VAN GILS Maxim Lotto Dstny 0:03
4  COSNEFROY Benoît Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team 0:03
5  BUITRAGO Santiago Bahrain - Victorious 0:03
6  JOHANNESSEN Tobias Halland Uno-X Mobility 0:10
7  GRÉGOIRE Romain Groupama - FDJ 0:10
8  GODON Dorian Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team 0:10
9  BENOOT Tiesj Team Visma | Lease a Bike 0:10
10  MARTIN Guillaume Cofidis 0:10

2024 Pro Cycling Classics Lastest News