VIDEO: Lampaert wins Dwars Door Vlaanderen for Quick-Step Floors

Lampaert solo'ed away from 4 man breakaway as Quick-Step Floors produced some exciting nail-biting racing at the start of the Classics season

Yves Lampaert took victory of Dwars Door Vlaanderen after  the Belgian Quick-Step rider finished solo after a successful attack and was followed by his teammate Philippe Gilbert and Astana's Alexey Lutsenko.

Dwars Door Vlaanderen is a 203.4 kilometer race and the start of the famous 'Flemish Cycling Week'.

21 riders took the lead of the race including Dylan Groenewegen (Lotto NL-Jumbo), Mathew Hayman (Orica-Scott) and Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors).

The riders eventually faced more climbs and more cobbles, and the group got smaller until only Gilbert, Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors), Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott) and Alexey Lutsenko (Astana) remained.

The four riders kept open a gap of one minute in front on the peloton.

With five kilometers to go, Lampaert made his final move and went solo. The Belgian quickly created a gap that surpassed 30 seconds as his breakaway companions failed to react.

The Quick-Step rider had enough time to celebrate and enjoy crossing the finish line.

Phillip Gilbert was the fastest in the 3-man sprint behind and Lutsenko completed the podium of the Belgian race.

Quick-Step-Floors, especially Philip Gilbert, who made for some exciting racing today.

2017 Dwars Door Vlaanderen Results

1 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 4:47:26 
2 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 0:00:39 
3 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team   
4 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-Scott   
5 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:01:03 
6 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
7 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
8 Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac   
9 Mitch Docker (Aus) Orica-Scott   
10 Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits   
11 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal  

VIDEO: 2017 Dwars Door Vlaanderen Highlights

Lampaert wins Dwars Door Vlaanderen for Quick-Step Floors

Tag: procyclingclassics
Jan 28 2018 - NEWS: Vincenzo Nibali to Ride the Tour of Flanders Spring Classic
Jan 12 2018 - NEWS: Flanders bids for 2021 World Championships
Dec 03 2017 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet targets Strade Bianche and Tour of Flanders
Oct 01 2017 - NEWS: New classic pro race to celebrate the centenary of the First World War
Apr 23 2017 - NEWS: Valverde donates his Liege-Bastogne-Liege prize money to the Scarponi family
Apr 22 2017 - NEWS: Four U.S. Riders ready for battle at Leige-Bastogne-Leige
Apr 20 2017 - NEWS: PREVIEW: Liege-Bastogne-Liege
Apr 20 2017 - NEWS: VIDEO: Michael Valgren escapes serious injury after crash in La Fleche Wallonne
Apr 19 2017 - NEWS: Valverde wins fifth Fleche Wallonne
Apr 17 2017 - NEWS: PREVIEW: Fleche Wallonne
Apr 17 2017 - NEWS: Philippe Gilbert to miss the rest of Ardennes Classics
Apr 16 2017 - NEWS: Philippe Gilbert wins the Amstel Gold race
Apr 14 2017 - NEWS: PREVIEW: Amstel Gold Race
Apr 12 2017 - NEWS: Sonny Colbrelli wins Brabantse Pijl
Apr 11 2017 - NEWS: Philippe Gilbert ready to focus on the Ardennes Classics
Tag: etixx
Dec 30 2017 - NEWS: Ghent-Wevelgem Cyclo takes place March 24
Dec 20 2017 - NEWS: Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo opens the Flemish Spring Season!
Dec 16 2017 - NEWS: Armstrong to speak at Tour of Flanders Business Academy
Nov 18 2017 - NEWS: Etixx Classics Tour: Cycling in the Tracks of the Pros!
Sep 10 2017 - NEWS: Trentin wins final as Froome crowned Vuelta winner
Sep 01 2017 - NEWS: Hat Trick for Matteo Trentin at the Vuelta
Aug 29 2017 - NEWS: Matteo Trentin wins stage 10 as Nicolas Roche gains time
Aug 22 2017 - NEWS: Matteo Trentin wins Stage 4, Chris Froome remains in red
Aug 20 2017 - NEWS: Yves Lampaert wins stage two and takes the lead
Jul 12 2017 - NEWS: Unstoppable Kittel powers to his fifth stage win in Pau
Jul 11 2017 - NEWS: Kittel wins his fourth stage at the Tour de France
Jul 02 2017 - NEWS: Marcel Kittel wins Stage 2 Sprint
Jun 11 2017 - NEWS: Philippe Gilbert wins a Crash marred stage 2
May 31 2017 - NEWS: Pro Rider Hits Bear at Lake Tahoe
May 14 2017 - NEWS: Marcel Kittel wins opening stage one in Sacramento