VIDEO: Greg Van Avermaet takes E3 Harelbeke

Greg Van Avermaet took his second victory of the season in E3 Harelbeke

Greg Van Avermaet has won the E3 Harelbeke. The rider of BMC was the fastest in the three-men final sprint and beat Philippe Gilbert and Oliver Naesen.

The E3 Harelbeke, 206.2 kilometers long, is one of the cobbled classics of the north of Belgium and it's considered the prelude to the Tour of Flanders.

Early on tthere was a breakaway of six riders. Alexis Gougeard (AG2R-La Mondiale), Laurens De Vreese (Astana), David Per (Bahrain-Merida), Gijs Van Hoecke (Lotto NL-Jumbo), and Taco Van der Hoorn (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij) and their gap grew to 4 minutes.

Greg Van Avermaet (BMC), Oliver Naesen (AG2R-LaMondiale), Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) and Sep Vanmarcke (Cannondale-Drapac) attacked and caught the lead group.

With 5 kilometers to go only Van Avermaet, Gilbert and Naesen remained.

Behind them Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) was involved in a crash and abandoned.

The three riders arrived together and the final sprint was won by Van Avermaet, ahead of breakaway companions Gilbert second, and Naesen third. 

“It’s really nice to win a classic that matters, and for me it’s the first time in E3,” said Van Avermaet. “It gives me all the confidence for Flanders.”

2017 E3 Harelbeke Top 10 Results

1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 4:48:17 
2 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors   
3 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
4 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-Scott 0:00:40 
5 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:41 
6 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:00:52 
7 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida   
8 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick-Step Floors   
9 Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac   
10 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac

VIDEO: Greg Van Avermaet takes E3 Harelbeke


Tag: procyclingclassics
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash
Aug 04 2018 - NEWS: Landa and Bernal in a serious way after San Sebastian horror pile-up
Aug 04 2018 - NEWS: Alaphilippe out-sprints Mollema at crash-marred San Sebastian Classic
Apr 22 2018 - NEWS: Woods puts EF Education First - Drapac p/b Cannondale on Liège podium
Apr 22 2018 - NEWS: Bob Jungels wins Liege-Bastogne-Liege after solo attack