Tom Dumoulin wins the 2017 BinckBank Tour

Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) won the last stage of the BinckBank Tour while Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) took the overall victory

The last stage of the Dutch-Belgium between Essen and Geraardsbergen included the famous cobbles of the Muur van Geraardsbergen.

An early breakaway of seven riders was established including; Elia Viviani, Tony Martin, Jay Thomson, Grega Bole, Kenny deHaes, Elmar Reinders and Tim Merlier with a 2 minute lead.

The peloton didn't let them get any further ahead. Rickaert and van Hecke joined the breakaway making it nine riders.

Bora - hansgrohe were leading the chase with 60 kms to go. With 54 kms to go and the peloton were slowly reeling the break back in, which stood at 1m 22secs. Two remaining breakaway riders had 1m 20 sec ahead of the bunch with 40km to go.

Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) cleverly took two seconds on the Golden Kilometre sprints to take more time on Wellens.

With 27 kms to go and the breakaway only has 17 seconds and were caught during the last lap of the circuit.

A group of around 15 riders attacked out of the main pleoton, including the favourites.

Several attacks took place including Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) and Greg van Avermaet (BMC). Peter Sagan sat up, tired of doing all the work and Jasper Stuyven attacked.

No one chased so Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) solo'ed across the finish line a second ahead of the remining bunch.

2017 Giro d'Italia champion Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) finished third and along with his time bonuses, took the overall victory. 

Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) and Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) came second and third overall respectively.

After the race Dumoulin said: "It's great to finally win here after a few years of being close. This was our goal and we all had to come together to make it happen, which we did. The team was super strong every day and today it was up to us but we had it all under control, and I had good legs today."

Team Sunweb coach Tom Veelers (NED) added: "We're really happy with this win for the team and the great job that the guys have done here. The stage started with a big fight for the break, and the nine man group that went was an ideal situation for us with the first rider at 15-minutes.

"We didn't have to work until the start of the local lap and there we saw a big fight on the climbs, but we stayed calm and could follow with Tom who was really strong once again today."

2017 BinckBank Tour Stage 7 Top Ten Results

1 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 4:06:48 
2 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 0:00:01 
3 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb   
4 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe   
5 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
6 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
7 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team   
8 Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ   
9 Dion Smith (NZl) Wanty - Groupe Gobert   
10 Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac

2017 BinckBank Tour Final Classification after Stage 7

1 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 24:34:33 
2 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:17 
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:46 
4 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:00:51 
5 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:14 
6 Michael Valgren Andersen (Den) Astana Pro Team 0:01:15 
7 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:01:53 
8 Lars Boom (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:01:59 
9 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 0:02:12 
10 Petr Vakoc (Cze) Quick-Step Floors 0:02:23

VIDEO: 2017 BinckBank Tour Stage 7 Final Kilometres

Tag: binckbanktour
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Tom Dumoulin wins the 2017 BinckBank Tour
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Stuyven wins final stage, claims 3rd overall in Binckbank Tour
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Peter Sagan secures BinckBank Tour points jersey
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Lars Boom fined for 1,000 Swiss Francs Badass celebration
Aug 12 2017 - NEWS: Tim Wellens takes stage and Tom Dumoulin leads GC
Aug 11 2017 - NEWS: Lars Boom Solo's to Stage Win and Race Lead
Aug 10 2017 - NEWS: Edward Theuns from Trek-Segafredo wins BinckBank stage 4
Aug 09 2017 - NEWS: Sagan wins his second BinckBank Stage
Aug 08 2017 - NEWS: Stefan Kung takes ITT and the Lead at BinckBank Tour
Aug 07 2017 - NEWS: Peter Sagan takes sprint victory at stage 1 of the BinckBank Tour
Aug 06 2017 - NEWS: Cannondale-Drapac ready for the 2017 BinckBank Tour
Aug 06 2017 - NEWS: Star Studded Line Up for Binck Bank Tour
Sep 25 2016 - NEWS: Eneco Tour 2016 Stage 7: Boasson Hagen Wins Stage, Terpstra The Eneco Tour
Sep 24 2016 - NEWS: Eneco Tour Stage 6: Pibernik claims stage as breakaway holds off peloton
Sep 23 2016 - NEWS: Eneco Tour: Rohan Dennis back on top as BMC wins Team Time Trial
Aug 12 2019 - EVENT: BinckBank Tour
Tag: giant
Mar 11 2018 - NEWS: Giant Seorak GranFondo Asia round of the Gran Fondo World Tour® Series
Aug 28 2017 - NEWS: Warren Barguil booted off the Vuelta
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: Tom Dumoulin wins the 2017 BinckBank Tour
Jul 20 2017 - NEWS: Frenchman Warren Barguil wins on the Col d'Izoard
Jul 19 2017 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Takes Over Green Jersey
Jul 18 2017 - NEWS: Michael Matthews wins windy stage 16 Sprint
Jul 15 2017 - NEWS: Matthews wins stage as Froome Sprints Back Into Yellow
Jul 14 2017 - NEWS: Frenchmen Warren Barguil wins on Bastille Day
Jul 10 2017 - NEWS: Team Sunweb's Warren Barguil Takes Over The Lead In The Tour De France Mountains Classification
Jun 21 2017 - NEWS: Team Sunweb Confirm Tour De France Line-up
Jun 12 2017 - NEWS: An Impeccable Lead-out Sees Michael Matthews Take The Victory At Tour De Suisse Stage 3
Jun 08 2017 - NEWS: Phil Bauhaus Sprints To Critérium Du Dauphiné Stage 5 Victory
May 09 2017 - NEWS: SunWeb reveals rosters for Tour of California
Apr 27 2017 - NEWS: Warren Barguil fractures pelvis at Tour de Romandie
Feb 26 2017 - NEWS: Team Sunweb Wins The Women's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Jun 03 2018 - EVENT: Giant Kendal - Castle Sportive
Nov 03 2018 - EVENT: Giro del Lago
May 25 2019 - EVENT: Giant Seorak GranFondo
Jun 22 2019 - EVENT: The Giants Causeway Coast Sportive