Dylan Groenewegen sprints to Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Win

Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) added a fourth victory to his early-season success with Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne on Sunday. He outsprinted Arnaud Démare (FDJ)) and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) in a final sprint 

A bunch sprint was predicted this year as the 200 kilometre route featured twelve Flemish 'Hellingen', but the finale was played out on the flat with the last hill, the Nokereberg, crested with 50 kilometres still left to go.

Seven riders established the first breakaway of the day including; Bagdonas, Gediminas (Ag2r La Mondiale), Korsaeth, Truls (Astana), Bono, Matteo , (UAE Team Emirates), Allegaert, Piet (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Van Bilsen, Kenneth (Cofidis), Cardis, Romain (Direct Energie), Perry, Benjamin (Israel Cycling Academy).

They were plenty of warnings of and pretty soon riders in the peloton hit some of the right hand side shoulder which rippled through the field with some riders in the hedgerows and grass, unfortunately Boy Van Poppel (Trek-Segafredo) had to abandon the race injured.

Over the over Oude Kwaremont, the peloton started to fracture and 20 riders were left in the lead group including favorites such as Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo), Jelle Wallays (Lotto Soudal), Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin), Daniel Oss (Bora-hansgrohe), Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott) and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC).

They group quickly built up a lead of 40 seconds and the pace was such that Fernando Gaviria was dropped!

Daniel Oss and Jasper Stuyven attacked and got a gap of 17 secs on the favourites group with 47 kms to go. Oss punctured and Stuyven was swept up with 20 kms to go.

As the pace lifted again there was the inevitable crash, Sacha Modolo from EF Drapac went down hard, hitting his head and was seen motionless on the ground.

They were even more attacks, Julien Duval and Julien Vermote got a gap with 6.5 kms to go, as the leading group slowly reeled them in, it was clear that is was going to come down to a bunch sprint for those remaining in the lead group.

In the finale, Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) easily over powered his rivals with a blistering sprint in front of Arnaud Demare (AG2R La Mondiale)and Bahrain-Merida's Sonny Colbrelli stepped on the last spot of the podium.

This year, Groenewegen had already taken victories at one stage of the Dubai Tour and two of the Volta ao Algarve making this his fourth win this season.

VIDEO: 2018 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Final Kilometres

2018 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Top 10

1 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo   
2 Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ   
3 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida   
4 Pim Ligthart (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij   
5 Justin Jules (Fra) WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic   
6 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC Racing Team   
7 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel Cycling Academy   
8 Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Team Sky   
9 Julien Vermote (Bel) Dimension Data   
10 Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert

Tag: procyclingclassics
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash
Aug 04 2018 - NEWS: Landa and Bernal in a serious way after San Sebastian horror pile-up
Aug 04 2018 - NEWS: Alaphilippe out-sprints Mollema at crash-marred San Sebastian Classic
Apr 22 2018 - NEWS: Woods puts EF Education First - Drapac p/b Cannondale on Li├Ęge podium
Apr 22 2018 - NEWS: Bob Jungels wins Liege-Bastogne-Liege after solo attack
Apr 18 2018 - NEWS: Alaphilippe takes Valverde's Crown and wins Fleche Wallonne
Apr 15 2018 - NEWS: Michael Valgren wins the Classic Amstel Gold Race
Apr 12 2018 - NEWS: World champion Peter Sagan is Back this Sunday at the Amstel Gold Race
Apr 13 2018 - NEWS: Gilbert, Terpstra and Alaphilippe headline Quick-Step Floors Amstel Gold Team
Apr 11 2018 - NEWS: Tim Wellens wins Brabantse Pijl as riders honor Michael Goolaerts
Apr 09 2018 - NEWS: Cycling mourns death of 23-year-old Michael Goolaerts
Apr 08 2018 - NEWS: World Champion Peter Sagan wins Paris-Roubaix after decisive attack
Apr 06 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing's full force behind Greg Van Avermaet at Paris-Roubaix
Apr 04 2018 - NEWS: Fabio Jakobsen wins Scheldeprijs as Level Crossing causes Chaos
Apr 03 2018 - NEWS: All you need to know about the 2018 Paris-Roubaix