Terpstra strikes out from the Wolfpack to win E3 Harelbeke

Niki Terpstra from Quick-Step Floors won he E3 Harelbeke, soling to the line after being out in the breakaway for over 70 kms

The 206 kilometre race started and finished in Harelbeke, West Flanders, Belgium.

A breakaway of eight riders went away that included; Truls Engen Korsaeth (Astana), Nelson Oliveira and Pim Ligthart (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij) and built up a mxaimum lead of six minutes.

With 108 kilometres to go, there was a massive crash, which split the peloton into two groups. Up front were riders Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe), Niki Terpstra and Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors)

Lighart and Damien Gaudin (Direct Energie) were te only two to survive from the breakaway and were joined by Niki Terpstra and Yves Lampaert from Quick-Step Floors,  behind a group led by Greg Van Avermaet chased.

Lighart and Damien Gaudin  were dropped and Niki Terpstra and Yves Lampaert from Quick-Step Floor pushed on, behind Greg Van Avermaet, Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal) and Gilbert continued to try to bridge across.

With 30 kilometres to go, Gilbert attacked but was reeled in by Van Avermaet and Benoot and a chasing group which included Stefan Küng (BMC), Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) and Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott).

With 24 kilometres to go, Terpstra struck out after the final climb, dropping teammate Yves Lampaert who had worked diligently.

Terpstra maintained a 30-40 second gap, with 5  kilometres from the line, Van Avermaet launched an attack and so did Trentin both being reeled back in by the others. jasper Stuyven was next but he too was unsuccessful.

The attacks reduced the speed of the group and Terpstra hung on and to cross the line, behind Gilbert was second and Van Avermaet third.

The win brings Quick-Step Floors totla, to 18 wins this year.

VIDEO: 2018 E3 Harelbeke Final Kilometres

2018 E3 Harelbeke Top 10

1 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors 5:03:34 
2 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 0:00:20 
3 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team   
4 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale   
5 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
6 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo   
7 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale   
8 Gianni Moscon (Ita) Team Sky   
9 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quick-Step Floors   
10 Stefan Küng (Swi) BMC Racing Team

Tag: procyclingclassics
Feb 14 2019 - NEWS: 2019 Paris Roubaix Will Honor Fallen Hero Michael Goolaerts
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders
Jan 22 2019 - NEWS: Andrea Tafi training hard for his dream to race Paris-Roubaix once again
Nov 29 2018 - NEWS: Bettini: Tafi Needs to find something else to do than race Roubaix!
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash