Nikki Terpstra solos to emphatic win at the Tour of Flanders

Nikki Terpstra from Quick-Step Floors attacked on the Kruisberg, caught and past the breakaway leaders to solo to the line with Mads Pederson second

For the whole day, dark clouds threatened to rain on the Tour of Flanders. Starting the day on rain-soaked roads, the race saw frequent crashes and mechanicals that would put an end to even the strongest riders’ races. 

For the 102nd edition of the Tour of Flanders, riders are treated to one of the hardest races of the UCI WorldTour. The 265km parcours makes for a long day in the saddle, even without any climbs or cobblestones to take into account, but the 2018 edition of the race sees no fewer than 13 cobblestone sections and 18 brutal climbs. The closing third of the race also brings with it some of the hardest climbs of the race - including the Koppenberg and the legendary Oude Kwaremont, ridden three times, and Paterberg, ridden twice.

The final ascent of the Paterberg comes just over 10km from the finish line. This would undoubtedly be the climbs to watch the decisive move unfold over, the steep and narrow cobblestone climb having been the deciding climb in so many previous editions of the race. If the parcours wasn’t enough, however, the Belgian weather always manages to shake the day up - potentially ruining even the strongest rider's chances, with crashes and punctures likely as the roads become soaked.

Dutchman Niki Terpstra from Quick-Step Floors’ won the 102nd edition of the Ronde Van Vlaanderen with a solo breakway on Easter Sunday. He attacked his main rivals over the top of the Kruisberg 

Terpstra counter attacked Nibali who rode away, with no emphasis from the main favorites to chase, marking each other. Terpstra bridged across to a trio of leading riders from the early breakaway on the Kwaremont including Van Baarle, Max Pederson and Langeveld.

Terpstra pushed on over the Kwaremont, with only Max Pederson being able to follow.

Behind, Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) attacked but was brought back by riders including Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) and last year’s winner Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors).

Terpstra was able to maintain his gap, behind Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) survived from the early breakaway, just ahead of the chasing group. Phillipe Gilbert sprinted for third place, rounding out another succesful day for Quick-Step Floors.

"It's a dream come true," Terpstra said. "Winning Paris-Roubaix and now the Tour of Flanders... Those two races were always a big dream for me when I was young kid. I was already crazy about those two races. Now they're both on my palmares. I can't describe how happy I am."

VIDEO: 2018 Tour of Flanders Highlights

2018 Tour of Flanders Top 10

1 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors
2 Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo   
3 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors   
4 Michael Valgren (Den) Astana Pro Team   
5 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team   
6 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe   
7 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo   
8 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
9 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan   
10 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quick-Step Floors

Tag: procyclingclassics
Feb 14 2019 - NEWS: 2019 Paris Roubaix Will Honor Fallen Hero Michael Goolaerts
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders
Jan 22 2019 - NEWS: Andrea Tafi training hard for his dream to race Paris-Roubaix once again
Nov 29 2018 - NEWS: Bettini: Tafi Needs to find something else to do than race Roubaix!
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash