Fabio Jakobsen wins Scheldeprijs as Level Crossing causes Chaos

Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Floors) took the victory in the 2018 Scheldeprijs after many of the pre-race favourites were disqualified after they ignored a railroad crossing

The drama began early at Scheldeprijs as crosswinds broke up the peloton and a group of favorites went over a railroad crossing as the crossing arms were lowering. This led the race jury disqualifying 35 riders including Arnaud Démare and Dylan Groenewegen.

As part of the peloton came to a train crossing the barriers began to come down. The group had to stop but some riders sneaked through ignoring rules the UCI put in place to prevent riders from putting themselves in danger as a result of the race interruption

Despite protests from the riders, they were all disqualified from the race. Arnaud Démare and Dylan Groenewegen were two of the most notable riders pulled from the race.

“Apart from risking the penalty for such an offence as provided by law, offending riders shall be eliminated from the competition by the commissaries; besides, the disciplinary commision may impose a suspension of up to one month as well as a fine of CHF 200 to 5,000,” the UCI rule books reads.

VIDEO: Here the moment they skip the railroad crossing


“I think it’s because we start winning and everyone starts to believe in it. We always go for one guy full gas and that is the strength of the pack. When one person starts winning, we all want to start winning. It’s amazing to be in ‘the wolfpack’,” Jakobsen said.

VIDEO: 2018 Scheldeprijs Highlights

2018 Scheldeprijs Top 10

1 Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Quick-Step Floors 4:23:51 
2 Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe   
3 Christopher Lawless (GBr) Team Sky   
4 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
5 Jérémy Lecroq (Fra) Vital Concept Club   
6 Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Team Sunweb   
7 Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert   
8 Jonas Rickaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise   
9 Bram Welten (Ned) Fortuneo-Oscaro   
10 Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha-Alpecin

Tag: procyclingclassics
Feb 14 2019 - NEWS: 2019 Paris Roubaix Will Honor Fallen Hero Michael Goolaerts
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders
Jan 22 2019 - NEWS: Andrea Tafi training hard for his dream to race Paris-Roubaix once again
Nov 29 2018 - NEWS: Bettini: Tafi Needs to find something else to do than race Roubaix!
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash