Alaphilippe takes Valverde's Crown and wins Fleche Wallonne

The 82nd edition of the Belgium one-day race saw the break caught 6km before the finish. Shortly before the line Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) launched an attack and took the win ahead of Alejandro Valverde (Team Movistar)

Today the Ardennes Classics continued with “La Fléche Wallonne”, the 82ndedition of the Belgium one-day race started in Seraing and took the riders over nearly 200km up to the finish “Mur de Huy”. During the race the riders had to tackle the Mur de Huy twice before the third time built the finale. The course featured as well as eight other demanding ascents, like the “La Redoute” (2km length, 8,9%).

Racing under clear skies the breakaway of the day, went away early in the race and opened a gap of 4 minutes over the main bunch. As the eight riders at the front passed the climb Mur the Huy for the first time, they had still a gap of one minute. Team Movistar and Team Sky took control over the peloton and tried to close the gap and with 45km remaining the breakaway was caught. 

36km before the finish, the race went on fire, as a new group of six riders, went away and built a small gap over the peloton.

The group was strong and stayed at the front until the final kilometres before the race headed into the final climb In an exciting finale J. Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) attacked shortly before the finish line and took the win ahead of A. Valverde (Team Movistar). 

VIDEO: 2018 Fleche Wallonne Final Kilometres

2018 Fleche Wallonne Top 20

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors 4:53:37 
2 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:04 
3 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:06 
4 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Mitchelton-Scott   
5 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb   
6 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo   
7 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
8 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Quick-Step Floors   
9 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale   
10 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:12 
11 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky 0:00:15 
12 Tom-Jelte Slagter (Ned) Dimension Data 0:00:19 
13 Rudy Molard (Fra) Groupama-FDJ 0:00:21 
14 Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:25 
15 Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:28 
16 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team   
17 Serge Pauwels (Bel) Dimension Data   
18 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:00:30 
19 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:32 
20 Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:00:34

Tag: procyclingclassics
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash
Aug 04 2018 - NEWS: Landa and Bernal in a serious way after San Sebastian horror pile-up
Aug 04 2018 - NEWS: Alaphilippe out-sprints Mollema at crash-marred San Sebastian Classic
Apr 22 2018 - NEWS: Woods puts EF Education First - Drapac p/b Cannondale on Li├Ęge podium
Apr 22 2018 - NEWS: Bob Jungels wins Liege-Bastogne-Liege after solo attack
Apr 18 2018 - NEWS: Alaphilippe takes Valverde's Crown and wins Fleche Wallonne
Apr 15 2018 - NEWS: Michael Valgren wins the Classic Amstel Gold Race
Apr 12 2018 - NEWS: World champion Peter Sagan is Back this Sunday at the Amstel Gold Race
Apr 13 2018 - NEWS: Gilbert, Terpstra and Alaphilippe headline Quick-Step Floors Amstel Gold Team
Apr 11 2018 - NEWS: Tim Wellens wins Brabantse Pijl as riders honor Michael Goolaerts
Apr 09 2018 - NEWS: Cycling mourns death of 23-year-old Michael Goolaerts
Apr 08 2018 - NEWS: World Champion Peter Sagan wins Paris-Roubaix after decisive attack
Apr 06 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing's full force behind Greg Van Avermaet at Paris-Roubaix
Apr 04 2018 - NEWS: Fabio Jakobsen wins Scheldeprijs as Level Crossing causes Chaos
Apr 03 2018 - NEWS: All you need to know about the 2018 Paris-Roubaix