20 new Gran Fondo World Champions Officially Crowned in Poland

The 2019 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships in Poznan didn't have a team relay on the schedule so riders had one more day of recovery after the time trial on Thursday to prepare for the Gran Fondo on Sunday

20 new Gran Fondo World Champions Officially Crowned in Poland

The 151km course served as official course for all men up to the age of 59 and women up to 49 while the shorter 107km course was the World Championships distance for men over 60 and women over 50. All age groups started in 10 different startgroups with intervals of 7 minutes for a fast and flat race in hot temperatures.

The fastest age group were the younger males with Maxim Pirard (BEL) winning in an average speed of 44.5km/h, beating 7 other men in a break that started early in the race.

The fastest female age group was the combined 19-39 start with Polish Ewa Bankowska renewing her time trial world title in an average speed of 36.25km/h, beating more than 40 riders in a peloton sprint.

In the 107km, the fastest male was Russian Vladimir Kuznetsov, also renewing his time trial title in the M60-64 with a solo break while Janni Bormann (DEN) won the female race over the same distance with again a solo finish to become the new F55-59 World Champion.

The new 2019 Gran Fondo World Champions are:

M19-34: Maxim Pirard (BEL)
M35-39 : Luca Fioretti (ITA)
M40-44 : Grzegorz Golonko (POL)
M45-49 : Fred Voldset (NOR)
M50-54 : Daniel Christen (SUI)
M55-59 : Robert Garwood (USA)
M60-64 : Vladimir Kuznetsov (RUS)
M65-69 : Ulrich Rottler (GER)
M70-74 : Peter Ftorek (SVK)
M75-79 : Pierre Moreau (FRA)
M80+ : Michel Lacomme (FRA)
F19-34 : Nadine Gill (GER)
F35-39 : Ewa Bankowska (POL)
F40-44 : Sophie Evrard (FRA)
F45-49 : Monia Gallucci (ITA)
F50-54 : Elin Gronvik (NOR)
F55-59 : Janni Bormann (DEN)
F60-64 : Jeannie Longo (FRA)
F65-69 : Marti Valks (NED)
F70+ : Janet Ackermann (SUI)

France is again the leading nation with 4 world titles in the Gran Fondo after they also scored the same number of rainbow jerseys on Thursday.

Full results can be found on http://live.sts-timing.pl/uci_wc_poznan/index.php?dystans=1

2019 UCI Time Trial World Champions Officially Crowned in Poznan

2019 UCI Time Trial World Champions Officially Crowned in Poznan

After 22 qualifier events, riders could finally show their condition and power during the final event of the year in Poznan (Poland) during the 2019 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships.

New this year is that all age groups got official titles, jerseys and medals from the moment that one riders signed up, resulting in 20 new world champions from 14 different nationalities.

Overall fastest on the 18.3km was American Brock Mason (M19-34) in a time of 23:08 for an average speed of 46.6km/h, ten seconds faster than Danish Anders Moustgard who the M45-49 world title and Polish Miroslaw Wojciak who won the M40-44 rainbow jersey. 

The fastest female of the day was Polish Ewa Bankowska (M35-39) in a time of 25:44 and an average speed of 41.9 km/h, 12 seconds faster than German Adelheid Schütz (F45-49) and 15 seconds to Molly Van Houweling (F45-49). 

The new 2019 Time Trial World Champions are:

M19-34: Brock Mason (USA)
M35-39 : Tommi Martikainen (FIN) 
M40-44 : Miroslaw Wojciak (POL)
M45-49 : Anders Moustgaard (DEN)
M50-54 : Gregory Swinand (IRL)
M55-59 : Mario Fernandez Martinez (ESP)
M60-64 : Vladimir Kuznetsov (RUS)
M65-69 : Gilles Pellet (FRA)
M70-74 : Gary Ferguson (NZL)
M75-79 : Pierre Moreau (FRA)
M80+ : Michel Lacomme (FRA)
F19-34 : Laura Simenc (SLO) 
F35-39 : Ewa Bankowska (POL)
F40-44 : Amelie Kolweyh (GER)
F45-49 : Adelheid Schutz (GER)
F50-54 : Anna Davis (AUS)
F55-59 : Karen Hviid Christensen (DEN)
F60-64 : Jeannie Longo (FRA)
F65-69 : Lena Lundstrom (SWE)
F70+ : Janet Ackermann (SUI)

France is again the strongest nation with 4 world titles in the time trial.

Tag: ucigfws
Mar 20 2020 - NEWS: Hill and Watts claim victory in Bathurst Cycling Classic
Mar 19 2020 - NEWS: UCI Gran Fondo Champion Maxim Pirard and Pro rider Oliver Naeson complete 365km ride
Mar 07 2020 - NEWS: Over 2000 cyclists entered for UCI Bathurst Cycling Classic so far
Feb 28 2020 - NEWS: Huge International field at the UCI Gran Fondo Casablanca
Dec 12 2019 - NEWS: Ex pro Jani Brajkovic and Annemiek Stegehuis win Spinneys Dubai 92
Oct 31 2019 - NEWS: Celine Schärer and Stephane Cognet crowned 2019 Gran Fondo World Tour ® Series Winners
Oct 30 2019 - NEWS: UCI Reveals Qualified Riders from the 2019 RBC GranFondo Whistler
Oct 27 2019 - NEWS: How to Qualify for the 2020 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships in Vancouver
Oct 20 2019 - NEWS: African cycling event returns to the UCI Gran Fondo World Championship Series in 2020
Oct 09 2019 - NEWS: International peloton in the Tre Valli Varesine Granfondo
Sep 26 2019 - NEWS: Groot and Barrow shine on fully closed roads of Amy's Gran Fondo
Sep 22 2019 - NEWS: Can GCN Qualify for the 2019 UCI Gran Fondo World Championships?
Jul 12 2019 - NEWS: Australia’s New Favourite UCI Gran Fondo Returns in 2020
Sep 15 2019 - NEWS: UCI Bathurst Cycling Classic announces new Courses designed by Mark Renshaw
Sep 10 2019 - NEWS: 5000 riders help make the RBC GranFondo Whistler’s 10th edition the most remarkable one yet
Sep 15 2016 - RESULTS: Record 5,500 riders at 6th Edition of Amys Gran Fondo
Sep 04 2016 - RESULTS: 17 new UCI Gran Fondo World Champions in Australia
Jun 06 2016 - RESULTS: 8,000 cyclists take part in the UK Tour of Cambridgeshire UCI Gran Fondo
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: L'Albigeoise
Jun 13 2019 - EVENT: The Blue Mountains Granfondo
Sep 14 2019 - EVENT: Amys Gravel Fondo
Oct 05 2019 - EVENT: Granfondo Tre Valli Varesine
Feb 21 2020 - EVENT: UCI Granfondo Casablanca
Feb 23 2020 - EVENT: AKRA Gran Fondo Antalya
Mar 15 2020 - EVENT: Bathurst Cycling Classic
May 30 2020 - EVENT: Gran Fondo Banjaluka
May 31 2020 - EVENT: UCI Gran Fondo CRC506 Costa Rica
Jun 05 2020 - EVENT: Gran Fondo San Luis Potosi
Jun 12 2020 - EVENT: Maraton Franja
Jun 13 2020 - EVENT: Niseko Classic
Jul 02 2020 - EVENT: Appalachian Classic
Jul 04 2020 - EVENT: Around Samcheok
Jul 05 2020 - EVENT: Granfondo Ezaro