Gran Fondo Florida, March 17, 2024 - FIND OUT MORE!
United States | Southeast | Virginia >> Greg Van Avermaet wins Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal

Greg Van Avermaet wins Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal

BMCs Greg Van Avermaet sprinted to the win the 206 km race ahead of Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) and Diego Ulissi (Lampre)

Thus the Olympic champion succeeded in revenge for the race two days earlier in Quebec when he finished second behind the world champion. Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) was very strong, finishing just behind Sagan in third.

The last lap of the race saw a solo attack by Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida) and was followed by a strong chase group. The World Champion was left to chase down Rui Costa in the final few kilometres and then got boxed in by both Diego Ulissi (Lampre) and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) in the final sprint. 

Sagan missed out on emulating Simon Gerrans, in winning both the GP Qubec and GP Montreal in the same year.

Benjamin Perry got the KOM title to go with last year's Tour of Alberta KOM win.

Ryder Hesjedal won the most combatative award in the last race of his career.

Montréal GP Results Top 10 (205,7 km / 17laps of 12,1 km) 

1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 5:27:04
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff 0:00:00
3 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - Merida 0:00:00
4 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica - BikeExchange 0:00:00
5 Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data 0:00:00
6 Gianni Moscon (Ita) Team Sky 0:00:00
7 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale - Drapac Pro Cycling Team 0:00:00
8 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Esp) Movistar Team 0:00:00
9 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ 0:00:00
10 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx - Quick Step 0:00:00

VIDEO: GP de Montreal 2016 HD - Final Kilometers

Greg Van Avermaet wins Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal