Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours

Soren Kragh Andersen soloed away with 10 kms to go on the revised course which featured several gravel sectors in the last 50 kms

Dane Anderso (SunWeb) solo'd away from a trio of leaidng riders to win the 112th editon. The addition of 12.5 kilometres of vineyard tracks and seven all-new climbs in the final 60 kilometres made ideal terrain for long-range attacks.

It was Soren Kragh Andersen who went on the attack from a reduced peloton of around 30 riders with 35 kms to go. Behind Terpstra followed.

In incredible scenes, young Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R La Mondiale) bridged across to the pair with 20 kms to go.

But with 10 kms to go Andersen caught his companions knapping and attacked, opened a gap that grew and grew to over 40 seconds.

The pair countered but couldn't real him in and he crossed the line 25 second ahead of the pair, with Terpstra outsprinting Cosnefroy.

Behind them Naesen outsprinted a small group of chasers including Sep Vanmarcke, Tiesj Benoot and Philippe Gilbert who punctured earlier on.

The new format was very animated and it was a luck of draw as several favorites punctured or had a mechanical including Greipel.

"I didn't really believe this was possible," said Soren Kragh Andersen. "had some tough weeks after the Tour de France, but I was focused today and I really wanted it. I'm super happy with the outcome. It was an awesome parcours. Some guys say it's dangerous but you have to adapt to it. I can almost not believe it. It's an interesting win for me, a first classic. I could only enjoy it 100 metres before the line. The last 10km was super hard, but it was worth it. I'm really surprised and happy for it because the best of the best are here. It's crazy."

VIDEO: Best of 2018 Paris-Tours


2018 Paris-Tours Top 10

1 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb 4:37:55
2 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors 0:00:25
3 Benoit Cosnefroy (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
4 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:14
5 Valentin Madouas (Fra) FDJ
6 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal
7 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
8 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
9 Taco van der Hoorn (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij 0:01:24
10 Jos van Emden (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo

Dutchman Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours

Tag: procyclingclassics
Feb 14 2019 - NEWS: 2019 Paris Roubaix Will Honor Fallen Hero Michael Goolaerts
Feb 09 2019 - NEWS: Niki Terpstra and Mathieu van der Poel to race 2019 Tour of Flanders
Jan 22 2019 - NEWS: Andrea Tafi training hard for his dream to race Paris-Roubaix once again
Nov 29 2018 - NEWS: Bettini: Tafi Needs to find something else to do than race Roubaix!
Nov 10 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi to ride Paris-Roubaix 20 years after his victory
Oct 19 2018 - NEWS: 52 year old Andrea Tafi wants to race Paris-Roubaix again
Oct 13 2018 - NEWS: Thibaut Pinot solos to Il Lombardia classic win
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Nibali leads strong Bahrain Merida team into the Race of the Falling Leaves
Oct 11 2018 - NEWS: Aru, Costa and Martin lead UAE Team Emirates at Il Lombardia
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: 112th edition of Il Lombardia is the last Classic Monument race of the season
Oct 07 2018 - NEWS: Dane Soren Kragh Andersen wins revitalised 112th Paris-Tours
Oct 02 2018 - NEWS: Sprinters or Puncheurs, who'll win the 112th edition of Paris–Tours?
Sep 10 2018 - NEWS: Michael Matthews Repeats Win With Victory at GP Cycliste de Montreal
Aug 24 2018 - NEWS: Mikhel Raim wins the Great War Remembrance Race
Aug 06 2018 - NEWS: Egan Bernal released from hospital after Clasica San Sebastian horror crash