Ivan Garcia Cortina wins crash marred Sprint Stage 3

Cortina beat Peter Sagan as Sam Bennett and Caleb Ewan crash out 

Ivan Garcia Cortina wins crash marred Sprint Stage 3

Stage 3 was another long, wet and windy stage, that came down to a bunch sprint.

Deceuninck Quickstep came to the front in finale to lead out Sam Bennett who was forced into the barriers and crashed heavily, delaying Caleb Ewan in the process.

As Cortina kicked, Sagan countered but was unable to match Cortina's speed on the line and finished second, ahead of Andrea Pasqualon.

"It’s a surprise to beat Peter Sagan, there was a bit of chaos in the end. I found my place, a bit of space to go, and I had to go full, full gas to the end and I could take the victory. It’s weather I like. I suffered in the race, but I think everyone suffered. In the end I had good legs, so I do like these conditions." Cortina said afterwards.

Tom Devriendt (Circus Wanty Gobert) established a lone breakaway of the day and built up a lead of over 6m 30. With 100 km to go his lead was slowly reduced and was caught with 28 km to go.

The bunch then accelerated into a headwind that caused chaos behind as the sprinters teams found it increasingly difficult to organize their sprint trains and bring their sprinters to the front.

Bora’s Max Schachmann finished safely in the peloton to maintain his lead heading into the stage four time trial.

Schachmann leads Nizzolo by just 13 seconds before Wednesday's 15km TT, "I showed in the past I could ride good time trials. I want to defend this beautiful jersey. I’m going to try my best. Tomorrow is the next challenge. I’m going to give my best and then there are two hilly mountain stages. They will be the big showdown." 

VIDEO: 2020 Paris-Nice Stage 3 Highlights

2020 Paris-Nice Stage 3 Top 10

1 Ivan Garcia Cortina (Spa) Bahrain McLaren 5:49:55
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Circus-Wanty Gobert
4 Cees Bol (Ned) Team Sunweb
5 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
6 Rudy Barbier (Fra) Israel Start-Up Nation
7 Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie
8 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling
9 Mads Schmidt Würtz (Den) Israel Start-Up Nation
10 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R la Mondiale

2020 Paris-Nice GC after Stage 3

1 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe 13:12:01
2 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Pro Cycling 0:00:13
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:24
4 Mads Schmidt Würtz (Den) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:25
5 Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Col) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:26
6 Nils Politt (Ger) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:28
7 Krists Neilands (Lat) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:28
8 Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:31
9 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:31
10 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:36

Tag: parisnice
Mar 14 2021 - NEWS: Primož Roglic loses Paris-Nice on final stage after double crash
Jan 06 2021 - NEWS: LIVE COVERAGE: Paris Nice
Mar 13 2021 - NEWS: Roglic grabs 3rd Paris-Nice stage win to close in on victory
Mar 12 2021 - NEWS: Primož Roglic deals a big blow to his rivals on another uphill sprint
Mar 11 2021 - NEWS: Sam Bennett takes victory after perfect lead-out on stage five of Paris-Nice
Mar 10 2021 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic wins in Beaujolais to take Paris-Nice lead on Stage 4
Mar 09 2021 - NEWS: Stefan Bissegger fastest and takes race lead on Paris-Nice Time Trial
Mar 08 2021 - NEWS: Cees Bol powers to victory in chaotic Stage 2 Sprint at Paris-Nice
Mar 07 2021 - NEWS: Sam Bennett smashes Paris Nice Stage 1 Uphill Sprint
Mar 14 2020 - NEWS: Quintana wins final stage as Max Schachmann takes Paris-Nice overall victory
Mar 13 2020 - NEWS: Tiesj Benoot and Michael Matthews take incredible 1-2 at Paris-Nice
Mar 12 2020 - NEWS: Niccolò Bonifazio spoils Jan Tratnik's breakaway with just 25m to go
Mar 11 2020 - NEWS: Schachmann consolidates lead with solid time trial
Mar 10 2020 - NEWS: Ivan Garcia Cortina wins crash marred Sprint Stage
Mar 09 2020 - NEWS: Nizzolo wins Stage 2 Sprint as Brutal Conditions Take Their Toll
Mar 06 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Paris-Nice
Mar 12 2022 - EVENT: The Paris-Nice Challenge