Jasper Philipsen wins Milan-San Remo from a thrilling bunch sprint

Belgian Philipsen edged out Michael Matthews in a tight bunch sprint as teammate Van der Poel reeled in several attacks, in the fastest Milan-San Remo ever at over 46 kph 

Jasper Philipsen wins Milan-San Remo from a thrilling bunch sprint

The near 300 km race was run in wamer dry weather that might account for the fastest editon ever - at an average of 46 km per hour.

10 riders got in the breakway; Mirco Maestri, Sergio Samitier, Davide Baldaccini, Valerio Conti, Alessandro Tonelli, Samuele Zoccarato, Davide Bais, Andrea Pietrobon, Kyrylo Tasrenko and Romain Combaud. They built up a lead of just over 2 minutes, behind the peloton weren't giving them anymore of a lead, keeping them in a tight leash.

The breakaway worked together really well, accounting for the a high speed, which forced the peloton to ride an average of over 46 kph all day long which ultimately caused a lot of damage that would be felt later on in the day with huge groups of riders dropped on the run into San Remo.

Casualties included Christophe Laporte and Alexander Kristoff who began to lose contact with the peloton on the three Muri.

As the breakaway hit the bottom of the Cipressa they only had a lead of 18 seconds. Behind UAE team Emirates started riding hard for Pogacar with Alessandro Covi, Isaac Del Toro and Tim Wellens destroying the peloton down to around 40 riders.

The pace remained high on the descent of the Cipressa as Lidl-Trek hit the front for Pedersen. As the remining bunch slowed, Davide Bais from the breakway, that had been caught, boldy attacked again but was reeled back in a few kilometers later as the brutal fight for position on the Poggio began.

Tim Wellens hit the front again with Pogacar on his wheel with 8 kilometers to go on the final climb of the Poggio. As Wellens pulled over, Pogacar was the first to attack with 6.5 km to go on the steepest section of the climb, followed by van der Poel, Bettiol and Stuyven.

Pogacar took his foot of the gas, unable to get a gap. Lidl-Trek took up the pace as they increased the speed on the Poggio agaon. With 200m to Pogacar attacked again and only Mathieu van der Poel could bridge immediately across as they hit the descent of Poggio.

Behind, a group of around 10 riders were only a few seconds behind. Pogacar led down the descent with van der Poel on his wheel as Tom Pidcock and Matej Mohoric bridged across.

Mohoric was the next to attack on the final part of the descent, Mathieu van der Poel reeled him back in as they hit the flat run in with 1.5 km to go.

Behind, riders bridged across including sprinters, Pedersen, Matthews and Matteo Sobrero. Sobreo immediately attacked, Van der Poel chased again. 

Next up was Tom Pidcock who launched a brutal attack and got a good gap but was also reeled back in with less than 1 km to go.

It was time for a bunch sprint, Jasper Stuyven leading out Mads Pedersen for Lidl-Trek. As Pedersen and Matthews began winding up their sprints head-to-head, Jasper Philipsen pulled over onto Matthews' wheel and came round him and just edged him out with a bike throw right on the line. Amazingly Pogacar finished third outsprinting Pedersen and Bettiol. Previous winner Julian Alaphilippe was also in the top ten and there and there abouts for the whole finale.

Philipsen hugged Alpecin - Deceuninck teammate Mathieu van der Poel, who turned himself inside out, reeling in several big attacks from the likes of Pogacar, Mohoric and Pidcock. He had no matches left to contest the sprint.

HIGHLIGHTS: 2024 Milan-San Remo

2024 Milan-San Remo Top 10

1  PHILIPSEN Jasper Alpecin - Deceuninck 6:15:45
2  MATTHEWS Michael Team Jayco AlUla 0:00
3  POGACAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates 0:00
4  PEDERSEN Mads Lidl - Trek 0:00
5  BETTIOL Alberto EF Education - EasyPost 0:00
6  MOHORIC Matej Bahrain - Victorious 0:00
7  VAN GILS Maxim Lotto Dstny 0:00
8  STUYVEN Jasper Lidl - Trek 0:00
9  ALAPHILIPPE Julian Soudal Quick-Step 0:00
10  VAN DER POEL Mathieu Alpecin - Deceuninck 0:00

Tag: classics
Apr 21 2024 - NEWS: Pogacar attacks to solo to Liège-Bastogne-Liège Victory
Apr 20 2024 - NEWS: Pogacar and Van der Poel headline 2024 Liège-Bastogne-Liège
Apr 17 2024 - NEWS: Welsh Wonder Stephen Williams Strikes to win 2024 Flèche Wallonne
Apr 14 2024 - NEWS: Tom Pidcock finally wins the Amstel Gold Race
Apr 13 2024 - NEWS: Van der Poel favorite for Amstel Gold Race
Apr 10 2024 - NEWS: Benoît Cosnefroy wins 64th edition of De Brabantse Pijl
Apr 07 2024 - NEWS: World champion Mathieu van der Poel defends Paris-Roubaix title
Apr 06 2024 - NEWS: Lotte Kopecky outsprints Balsamo and Vos in Roubaix Velodrome
Apr 04 2024 - NEWS: Welcome to Hell: The 2024 Paris-Roubaix Preview
Apr 04 2024 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel not happy with 180 degree Arenberg Trench Chicane
Apr 03 2024 - NEWS: Tim Merlier sprints to Scheldeprijs success
Apr 02 2024 - NEWS: Spinters get ready for a flat and windy Scheldeprijs
Mar 31 2024 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel wins Tour of Flanders for a third time
Mar 28 2024 - NEWS: Kopecky and Van der Poel are back for 2024 Tour of Flanders
Mar 27 2024 - NEWS: Tiesj Benoot Takes The Blame for high speed Dwars door Vlaanderen horror crash
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Feb 16 2020 - EVENT: Willesden CC Reliability Rides
Feb 24 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Feb 25 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Kuurne Brussels Kuurne
Mar 13 2024 - EVENT: 2024 MilanoTorino
Mar 16 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Milano Sanremo
Mar 22 2024 - EVENT: 2024 E3 Saxo Classic
Mar 24 2024 - EVENT: 2024 GentWevelgem
Mar 27 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Dwars Door Vlaanderen
Mar 31 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Tour Of Flanders
Apr 03 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Scheldeprijs
Apr 07 2024 - EVENT: 2024 ParisRoubaix
Apr 10 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Brabantse Pijl
Apr 14 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Amstel Gold Race
Apr 17 2024 - EVENT: 2024 La Fleche Wallonne
Apr 21 2024 - EVENT: 2024 Liege–Bastogne–Liege