Bikes and Beers Virtual Social Distance Ride 2020 - FIND OUT MORE!
United States | Southeast | Virginia >> Italian Marco Canola wins Salt Lake City circuit race

Italian Marco Canola wins Salt Lake City circuit race 

Marco Canola of Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane and Travis McCabe of Worthy Pro Cycling and third-place finisher Brendan Rhim of Arapahoe-Hincapie in a sprint finish

Italian Marco Canola of Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane won the Salt Lake City circuit race for the second time by edging Travis McCabe of Worthy Pro Cycling and third-place

The stage in the state capital covered eight laps of just under seven miles apiece, yet the field came together on a steep ascent inside of a mile to go. James Piccoli surged to the front in search of a win that has eluded him all week, but Canola swept past everyone to pick up the win.

For the third stage in a row, Ben Hermans of Israel Cycling Academy wears the overall leader’s yellow jersey heading into the final weekend of racing in Park City and held onto his overall lead by 44 seconds. Piccoli remained in second place.

Hayden McCormick made an embarrassing mistake when he surged to the front at the conclusion of the penultimate lap, then threw his arms in the air in celebration thinking he had won.

The stage Saturday takes riders 80 miles, starting and finishing in Park City.

VIDEO: 2019 Tour of Utah Stage 4 Highlights

2019 Tour of Utah Stage 4 Top 10

1 Marco Canola (Ita) Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane 1:56:54 
2 Travis McCabe (USA) Worthy Pro Cycling   
3 Brendan Rhim (USA) Arapahoe-Hincapie p/b BMC   
4 Pablo Andrés Alarcon Cares (Chi) Canel's-Specialized   
5 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel Cycling Academy   
6 Peter Stetina (USA) Trek-Segafredo   
7 James Piccoli (Can) Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling   
8 Joe Dombrowski (USA) EF Education First   
9 Ben Hermans (Bel) Israel Cycling Academy   
10 Griffin Easter (USA) 303 Project  

2019 Tour of Utah GC after Stage 4

1 Ben Hermans (Bel) Israel Cycling Academy 12:27:18 
2 James Piccoli (Can) Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling 0:00:44 
3 Niklas Eg (Den) Trek-Segafredo 0:01:06 
4 Kyle Murphy (USA) Rally UHC Cycling 0:01:46 
5 Peter Stetina (USA) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:02 
6 Joe Dombrowski (USA) EF Education First 0:02:04 
7 João Almeida (Por) Hagens Berman Axeon 0:02:48 
8 Lawson Craddock (USA) EF Education First 0:03:17 
9 Rob Britton (Can) Rally UHC Cycling 0:03:22 
10 Matteo Badilatti (Swi) Israel Cycling Academy 0:03:54