Bikes and Beers Virtual Social Distance Ride 2020 - FIND OUT MORE!
United States | Southeast | Virginia >> Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank and NTT Pro Cycling clinch virtual Tour de France in the Champs-Élysées

Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank and NTT Pro Cycling clinch virtual Tour de France in the Champs-Élysées

Will Clarke and Lauren Stephens Claim Victory in Paris Finale

Hello Paris ! The 6th and last stage of the virtual Tour de France brings together 147 runners (63 women and 84 men) for six laps of the circuit (6.6km) on the famous Champs-Élysées course, reproduced on the Zwift roads as part of the operations Solidarity Tour de France to raise funds for charitable organizations. Among the participants, Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) has already had success in Paris by winning La Course by Le Tour in 2014.

The women's peloton quickly entered the Parisian roads and immediately imposed great intensity thanks to the intermediate sprints disputed on each lap. Already seen the day before on the slopes of Mont Ventoux, Dani Christmas (Lotto Soudal) is also showing its advantage on completely different terrain: the British impose a tempo at more than 5 watts / kg from the first kilometers. It is still there, with a power of more than 8 watts / kg, to lead the last two intermediate sprints.

A group of 23 contenders appear in the last lap, with the prospect of a royal sprint on the Champs. And in this great game, Lauren Stephens (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank) does honor to her yellow jersey by offering herself a prestigious victory, with a peak of 13.1 watts / kg in the final sprint!

This stage victory confirms the domination of Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank in the general classification. The American team wins the first edition of the virtual Tour de France with 499 points, ahead of Team Twenty20 (306 pts) and Drops Cycling (292 pts).

The men's race follows a similar format, with an increasingly intense pace over the laps. The yellow jersey Ryan Gibbons finds himself at the head of the field at the halfway point, with an average power of 5.4 watts / kg in the first 25 kilometers.

While the four-time winner of the Tour de France Chris Froome (Ineos) competes from the heights of the Teide volcano, in the Canary Islands, the Belgian Gijs van Hoecke (CCC Pro Team) is illustrated in the intermediate sprints. The intensity of the efforts gradually reduces the peloton: they are 34 runners for the last lap.

Bruno Armirail and Benjamin Thomas (Groupama-FDJ) try to get out 1km from the line to surprise the sprinters. They were finally taken over by Edvald Boasson Hagen (NTT Pro Cycling Team), regularly placed in the top 5 of the last stage of the Tour de France on the Champs-Élysées. But the Norwegian must once again bow, with the victory of Will Clarke (Trek-Segafredo) ahead of Filippo Ganna (Ineos) and Gibbons.

NTT Pro Cycling Team largely dominates the general classification of this first edition with 500 points. Rally Cycling follows with 267 points and Trek-Segafredo completes the podium (232 points).

VIDEO: Stage 6 VirtualTour de France Highlights

Stage 6 VirtualTour de France Womens Result

1 Lauren Stephens (USA) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank 0:56:38
2 April Tacey (GBr) Drops
3 Georgia Simmerling (Can) Twenty20
4 Chloe Dygert (USA) Twenty20
5 Alison Jackson (Can) Team Sunweb Women
6 Alice Barnes (GBr) Canyon-Sram Racing
7 Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) Trek-Segafredo Women
8 Leah Dixon (GBr) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank
9 Evita Muzic (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
10 Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies

Stage 6 VirtualTour de France Womens Final General Classification

1 Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank 499
2 Twenty20 306
3 Drops 292
4 Canyon-Sram Racing 272
5 CCC-Liv 216
6 Team Sunweb Women 187
7 Ceratizit-WNT Pro 129
8 FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
9 Rally Cycling Women 109
10 Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 97

Stage 6 VirtualTour de France Mens Result

1 Will Clarke (Aus) Trek-Segafredo 0:51:44
2 Filippo Ganna (Ita) Team Ineos
3 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) NTT Pro Cycling
4 Rasmus Tiller (Nor) NTT Pro Cycling
5  Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Rally Cycling
6 Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) NTT Pro Cycling
7 Simon Clarke (Aus) EF Pro Cycling
8 Nickolas Zukowsky (Can) Rally Cycling
9 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) NTT Pro Cycling
10 Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel) CCC Team

Stage 6 Virtua lTour de France Mens Final General Classification

1 NTT Pro Cycling 500
2 Rally Cycling 267
3 Trek-Segafredo 232
4 EF Pro Cycling 211
5 Team Ineos 175
6 Israel Start-Up Nation 161
7 Mitchelton-Scott 139
8 Alpecin-Fenix 138
9 Groupama-FDJ 112
10 AG2R la Mondiale 105