Jakob Fuglsang solos to Stage 16 Mountain Top Finish Victory

Astana's Jakob Fuglsang soloed away from his breakaway companions to win his first WorldTour stage on the slopes of Alto de Cubila

The ten man breakaway of the day reached the final climb with over 9 minutes lead, including; Geoffrey Bouchard (AG2R La Mondiale), Luis León Sánchez, Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team), Philippe Gilbert, James Knox (Deceuninck-Quick Step), Romain Seigle (Groupama-FDJ) and Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal), Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Ineos), Valerio Conti (UAE Team Emirates) and Fernando Barcelo (Euskadi-Murias).

Luis León Sánchez did a lot of work for his teammate and with 9 kms to Fuglsang attacked and only Sanchez, Knox, Geoghegan-Hart, Brambilla could follow.

Sánchez continued to set the pace and pulled over, Fuglsang attacked taking Brambilla with him who faded. 

Geoghegan-Hart tried to haul himself back to Sanchez but to no avail.

Behind Astana lifted the pace as the peloton hit the final climb, dropping Bennett and Quintana.

Lopez attacked and took Pogacar and Roglic with him, while Valverde and Majka were slightly distanced.

The trio crossed the line, Lopez took some time on Valverde, while Quintana lost around 2 mins to Majka.

On GC Primoz Roglic leads 2m 48s ahead of Alejandro Valverde and 3m 42s ahead of Tadej Pogacar. 

VIDEO: 2019 La Vuelta Stage 16 Analysis

2019 La Vuelta Stage 16 Top 10

1    Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team    4:01:22
2    Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Ineos    0:00:22
3    Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team    0:00:40
4    James Knox (GBr) Deceuninck-QuickStep    0:00:42
5    Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo    0:01:12
6    Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal    0:02:09
7    Mikel Bizkarra Etxegibel (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias    0:02:15
8    Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eri) Dimension Data    0:02:21

2019 La Vuelta GC after Stage 16 Top 10

1    Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma    62:17:52
2    Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team    0:02:48
3    Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates    0:03:42
4    Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team    0:03:59
5    Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe    0:07:40
6    Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team    0:07:43
7    Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits    0:10:27
8    Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb    0:10:34
9    Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor) Lotto Soudal    0:10:40
10    Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain-Merida    0:12:05

Tag: vuelta
Oct 27 2020 - NEWS: Woods wins Vuelta stage seven as Carapaz keeps overall lead
Oct 25 2020 - NEWS: Carapaz grabs Red Jersey from Roglic as Izaguirre wins Stage 6
Oct 24 2020 - NEWS: Tim Wellens wins stage five of La Vuelta from the breakaway
Oct 22 2020 - NEWS: Tearful Martin wins Vuelta stage 3 as Roglic keeps lead
Oct 20 2020 - NEWS: Defending champion Primož Roglic wins first stage of Vuelta a España
Oct 15 2020 - NEWS: Froome in Ineos-Grenadiers’s Vuelta team and Roglic for Jumbo-Visma
Sep 25 2020 - NEWS: Col du Tourmalet climb covered in snow a whole month before La Vuelta stage
Sep 23 2020 - NEWS: Roglic, Dumoulin and Kuss set to ride Vuelta a Espana
Aug 23 2020 - NEWS: Revamped La Vuelta still visits the brutal slopes of the Tourmalet and the Angliru
May 01 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta plans for start in Northern Spain as Dutch start scrapped
Mar 28 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta Preparing for 2020 Race to go ahead as Planned in Mid-August
Feb 07 2020 - NEWS: Five hundred fans rode the Sagan Fondo at the la Vuelta a San Juan
Feb 03 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel wins Vuelta a San Juan as Gavria beats Sagan in Final Sprint
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel still in the Lead as Teammate Stybar Outsmarts the Sprinters
Feb 01 2020 - NEWS: Evenepoel retains lead as Florez claims Queen stage at the Vuelta San Juan
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 26 2020 - EVENT: Vuelta a San Juan
Oct 20 2020 - EVENT: 2020 La Vuelta