Carapaz grabs Red Jersey from Roglic as Izaguirre wins Stage 6

Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) seizes control of the Red Jersey on stage 6 of the Vuelta a España, as Primoz Roglic struggles in the brutally bad weather

Carapaz grabs Red Jersey from Roglic as Izaguirre wins Stage 6

Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) showed the first signs of weakness in the Vuelta a España on the final climb of the Formigal, slipping out of the overall lead after attacks from Carapaz and Hugh Carthy (EF Pro Cycling).

Ion Izagirre (Astana) won the stage from the breakaway, making his move on the final climb after an earlier attack by his brother and teammate Gorka.

Carthy gained the most time of the top contenders, moving into second overall at 18 seconds from Carapaz, with Dan Martin (Israel Start-Up Nation) fighting to hold the podium position in third at 20 seconds.

The red jersey changed hands after Roglic appeared to begin struggling with just over 2km to go to the top of the climb, in a stage blighted by bad weather. Carapaz then took the opportunity to attack, bridging to a group with Carthy up the road. While Carthy was able to drop Carapaz in the final kilometre, the Ecuadorian had done enough to move into the race lead finishing 43 seconds ahead of Roglic.

VIDEO: 2020 La Vueta Stage 6 Stage Summary

2020 La Vueta Stage 6 Top 10

1 Ion Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Astana Pro Team 3:41:00
2 Michael Woods (Can) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:25
3 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:25
4 Rob Power (Aus) Team Sunweb 0:00:27
5 Michael Valgren (Den) NTT Pro Cycling 0:00:27
6 Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis 0:00:27
7 Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Deceuninck-Quickstep 0:00:38
8 Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:48
9 Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana Pro Team 0:00:53
10 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:55

2020 La Vuelta GC after Stage 6 Top 10

1 Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Ineos Grenadiers 24:34:39
2 Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Pro Cycling 0:00:18
3 Daniel Martin (Irl) Israel Start-Up Nation 0:00:20
4 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:00:30
5 Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:07
6 Felix Grossschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:01:30
7 Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:42
8 Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott 0:02:02
9 David De la Cruz Melgarejo (Spa) UAE Team Emirates 0:02:46

Tag: vuelta
Jan 12 2021 - NEWS: First 2021 Pro race the Vuelta a San Juan cancelled due to Coronavirus
Dec 17 2020 - NEWS: Chris Froome to debut with Israel Start-Up Nation at the Vuelta a San Juan
Nov 08 2020 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic wins the Vuelta a España for a second consecutive year
Nov 07 2020 - NEWS: Roglic clings onto La Vuelta lead after late attack by Carapaz
Nov 06 2020 - NEWS: Magnus Cort Nielsen wins Stage 16 as Roglic extends lead
Nov 05 2020 - NEWS: Philipsen wins uphill Sprint as Brutal Weather plagued Stage 15
Nov 04 2020 - NEWS: Tim Wellens claimed his second stage victory at La Vuelta
Nov 03 2020 - NEWS: Roglic wins Vuelta individual time-trial to regain overall race lead
Nov 01 2020 - NEWS: Hugh Carthy attacks GC rivals to win atop the brutal Alto de l'Angliru
Oct 31 2020 - NEWS: David Gaudu wins atop Alto de La Farrapona
Oct 30 2020 - NEWS: Roglic reclaims La Vuelta race lead with Sprinting to Stage 10 Victory
Oct 29 2020 - NEWS: Sam Bennett sprints to victory in Vuelta stage 9 as Carapaz retains race lead
Oct 28 2020 - NEWS: Roglic triumphs in Vuelta and gains time at Alto de Moncalvillo
Oct 27 2020 - NEWS: Woods wins Vuelta stage seven as Carapaz keeps overall lead
Oct 25 2020 - NEWS: Carapaz grabs Red Jersey from Roglic as Izaguirre wins Stage 6
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 14 2021 - EVENT: 2021 La Vuelta