Kwiatkowski wins Classica San Sebastian

Kwiatkowski out sprinted breakaway companions Mollema, Gallopin, Landa and Doumoulin

Michal Kwiatkowski showed hes still in form by winning the final sprint from a breakaway of five riders, who went away on the final climb with around 9 kms to go. 

The 219 km saw a breakaway of five riders establish and build up a maximum lead of over 5 minutes. In the break were Insausti (TBM), Pfingsten (BOH), Chetout (COF), Le Turnier (COF), Delage (FDJ), Bystrom (KAT), Erviti (MOV).

Team Sky led the chase and slowly started to reel in the breakaway and with 63 kms to go, the breakaway's lead was down to 2m 40s.

Philippe Gilbert struggled and was dropped on second ascent of the Jaizkibel climb as Team Sky picked up the pace.

The breakaway was caught with 55kms to go and AG2R take over from Team Sky leading the peloton.

15 riders attacked with 30 kms to go and got a gap of around 30 seconds, Gianni Moscon has attacked out of the breakaway with 25 kms to go.

Gianni Moscon was caught before the final climb of the Murgil Tontorra.

On the final climb of the Murgil Tontorra, it was Mikel Landa, Tony Gallopin and Bauke Mollem who attacked, with Kwitakowski and Dumoulin chasing.

The two bridged across to make five riders who form the winning breakaway.

In the final sprint it Kwiatkowski who had the legs ahead of Gallopin, Mollema, Dumoulin and Landa. 

Gallopin crossed the line in second place and the winner of last year's edition, Mollema, was third.

Team Sky used good team tactics with Landa and Kwiatkowski from Team Sky working together to secure a win for the team

"Such amazing Basque Spanish guys in the team today," Kwiatkowski said "They were supporting me so well and I'm very thankful to the team. You could see Mikel Landa playing his crucial role in the end, and I could go for the sprint easily. I'm very thankful to Mikel that he waited in the group in the front. Today was just amazing, the team spirit, we believed that we could win the race."

2017 Classica San Sebastian Top Ten Results

1 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky 5:52:53 
2 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal   
3 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo   
4 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb   
5 Mikel Landa (Spa) Team Sky 0:00:02 
6 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:28 
7 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ 0:00:38 
8 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing   
9 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal   
10 Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing

VIDEO: 2017 Classica San Sebastian Final Kilometers

Tag: worldtour
Jan 12 2018 - NEWS: Flanders bids for 2021 World Championships
Oct 24 2017 - NEWS: 2017 UCI Gala awards the best road Cyclists of the Year
Oct 05 2017 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins Milano-Torino
Oct 05 2017 - NEWS: UCI announces 2018 World Tour and Pro Continental Teams
Sep 20 2017 - NEWS: UCI to reduce team sizes to eight in Grand Tours
Jul 31 2017 - NEWS: Coryn Rivera wins Ride London Classique
Jul 30 2017 - NEWS: Alexander Kristoff wins RideLondon-Surrey Classic
Jul 29 2017 - NEWS: Kwiatkowski wins Clasica San Sebastian
Jul 24 2017 - NEWS: Michael Matthews to take part in RideLondon-Surrey Classic
Mar 08 2017 - NEWS: 2017 Tirreno-Adriatico LIVE STREAM
Dec 16 2016 - NEWS: 2017 Tirreno-Adriatico Route Revealed
Mar 02 2017 - NEWS: Strade Bianche Route Revealed
Mar 02 2017 - NEWS: The 2017 Paris-Nice Preview
Jan 23 2017 - NEWS: Former Under 23 World Champion dies of a Heart Attack
Jan 03 2017 - NEWS: 2017 Paris-Nice Route Revealed
May 12 2019 - EVENT: 2019 Amgen Tour of California
Feb 01 2020 - EVENT: Cadel Evans Swisse People's Ride
Feb 26 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Mar 05 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Strade Bianche
Mar 06 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Paris-Nice
Mar 07 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico
Mar 19 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Milano Sanremo
Mar 25 2022 - EVENT: 2022 E3 Saxo Bank Classic
Mar 27 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Gent-Wevelgem
Apr 03 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Tour of Flanders
Apr 04 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Tour of the Basque Country
Apr 06 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Scheldeprijs
Apr 17 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Amstel Gold Race
Apr 20 2022 - EVENT: 2022 La Fleche Wallonne
Apr 23 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Brittany Classic-Ouest France
Tag: sansebastian
Jul 29 2017 - NEWS: Kwiatkowski wins Clasica San Sebastian
Oct 07 2018 - EVENT: Skoda Gran Fondo San Sebastian
Jul 30 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Clásica San Sebastián