Spin the Distric Union City Gran & Gravel Fondo, Sat Oct 2nd - Register NOW!
United States >> Rigoberto Uran wins Milano-Torino

Rigoberto Uran wins Milano-Torino

Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) won Milano-Torino, attacking on the second and final ascent of Superga before holding off a late onslaught from Adam Yates (Orica-Scott) to celebrate at the Basilica overlooking Turin

Yates crossed the line 10 seconds behind the Colombian, with Fabio Aru (Astana) finishing a further 10 seconds back to round out the podium.

Uran, who finished third here last year, produced a brace of powerful accelerations to go clear from a six-man group that had formed on the early slopes of the 4.9km climb, which was tackled twice in the finale of the autumn classic.

As Aru, David Gaudu (FDJ), Rudy Molard (FDJ), Egan Bernal (Androni), and Mickael Cherel (AG2R La Mondiale), were left scattered in his wake with 2.7km to go, Uran seemed destined for victory, though he was made to sweat for it by the advancing Yates. The 25-year-old attacked from the main group of favourites – containing Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) – and impressively made his way up to Aru and Gaudu before skipping clear to set up a nail-biting final-kilometre pursuit of Uran.

The Colombian went under the flamme rouge with 22 seconds in hand but it was down to 14 seconds as he took the left-hand turn for the final hike up to the Basilica. Yates was looking the stronger of the two but he essentially ran out of road, with Uran denied the luxury of sitting up and celebrating but not the victory itself – his second of the season and a statement of intent ahead of Il Lombardia on Saturday.

“I was a little worried about Yates catching me because I’d suffered a lot to get up here,” Uran said. “I wanted to do well today because I’m feeling good. I like racing in Italy and I like this race, it suits me. I’ve been trying to win Lombardia for a few years now, let’s hope I can do it this year.”

Nairo Quintana finished strongly to take fourth place as the race fragmented behind Uran and Yates. His Movistar team had looked to split the race with aggressive tactics on the first ascent of Superga but he opted to wait when the move containing Uran went away on the final climb.

Gaudu, the impressive French neo-pro, held on for fourth, crossing the line with Team Sky’s Wout Poels, while Daniel Martinez (Wilier Triestina) and Pinot finished a further few seconds in arrears.

Pierre Latour (AG2R) and Peter Stetina (Trek-Segafredo) rounded out the top 10.

2017 Milano-Torino Results Top Ten

1 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac 4:24:51 
2 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 0:00:10 
3 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:00:20 
4 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:28 
5 David Gaudu (Fra) FDJ 0:00:31 
6 Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky   
7 Daniel Martinez (Col) Wilier Triestina 0:00:33 
8 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:35 
9 Pierre Roger Latour (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:43 
10 Peter Stetina (USA) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:53

VIDEO: 2017 Milano-Torino Highlights