Olympic Champion Primoz Roglic wins La Vuelta Opening Time Trial

Primoz Roglic stamps his authority on the race as he looks to win his third straight La Vuelta victory

Olympic Champion Primoz Roglic wins La Vuelta Opening Time Trial

The opening stage of the Spanish grand tour was a 7.1-kilometre time trial in Burgos.

Ineos-Grenadiers' Dylan van Baarle was first to stay in the hot seat. The Dutchman set a fast time of 8 minutes and 43 seconds, but he was ousted by Alex Aranburu (Astana-Premier Tech), who completed the TT circuit in eight minutes and 38 seconds.

The last rider to start, the leader of Team Jumbo-Visma beat Spain's Alex Aranburu (Astana-Premier Tech) who was in the hot seat by 6 seconds and his compatriot Jan Tratnik (Bahrain Victorious) by 8 seconds.

Most of the other GC contenders finished at least fourteen seconds down on Roglic, with Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) losing 26 seconds to the Slovenian, Enric Mas is 18 seconds behind, Alexander Vlasov 14 seconds and Romain Bardet 17 seconds behind the Olympic champion.

Tomorrow's Stage 2 is a flat stage between Caleruega and Burgos which will suit a breakaway or bunch sprint. Stage 3 on Monday will be the next big test for the GC favorites with a mountain top finish atop the 1,500m high Picón Blanco.

VIDEO: 2021 La Vuelta Stage 1 Final Kilometre

2021 La Vuelta Stage 1 Top 10

1 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma 00:08:32
2 Alex Aranburu Deba (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech 00:00:06
3 Jan Tratnik (Slo) Bahrain Victorious 00:00:08
4 Tom Scully (NZl) EF Education-Nippo 00:00:10
5 Josef Cerny (Cze) Deceuninck-QuickStep
6 Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Ineos Grenadiers 00:00:11
7 Andrea Bagioli (Ita) Deceuninck-QuickStep 00:00:12
8 Lawson Craddock (USA) EF Education-Nippo 00:00:13
9 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team BikeExchange 00:00:14
10 Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana-Premier Tech 

Tag: vuelta
Aug 16 2022 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic ready to do battle in fourth straight La Vuelta Victory
Aug 12 2022 - NEWS: Can Jai Hindley do a Grand Tour double at La Vuelta?
Aug 11 2022 - NEWS: Seven Key Stages of the 2022 Vuelta a Espana
Aug 05 2022 - NEWS: Can Primoz Roglic bounce back and win Fourth Vuelta Victory?
Jan 28 2022 - NEWS: Vuelta a España departure to return to Barcelona in 2023 after 61-years
Dec 17 2021 - NEWS: Dutch Delight As 2022 Vuelta A Espana Route Revealed
Dec 02 2021 - NEWS: 39th Edition of Vuelta San Juan will kickstart 2022 Racing Season
Sep 15 2021 - NEWS: Dutch start for 2022 Vuelta a España
Sep 05 2021 - NEWS: Slovenia's Primoz Roglic wins third straight Vuelta a Espana title
Sep 05 2021 - NEWS: Miguel Ángel López abandons Vuelta a España whilst being 3rd overall
Sep 04 2021 - NEWS: Champoussin wins Stage 20 as Lopez Storms off out of La Vuelta
Sep 03 2021 - NEWS: Dane Magnus Cort Nielsen makes it a Hat Trick at La Vuelta
Sep 02 2021 - NEWS: Superman Lopez wins brutal stage up everyone's new favorite climb: the Altu d’El Gamoniteiru
Sep 01 2021 - NEWS: Roglic dominates in mountains to take back the Red Jersey
Aug 31 2021 - NEWS: Jakobsen's incredible comeback as he wins his third La Vuelta Sprint
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 13 2022 - EVENT: La Vuelta Holanda Breda
Aug 14 2022 - EVENT: La Vuelta Holanda Utrecht
Aug 19 2022 - EVENT: 2022 La Vuelta
Sep 17 2022 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala
Oct 29 2022 - EVENT: La Vuelta Mayakoba
Jan 29 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Vuelta a San Juan