Primoz Roglic Stamps authority on La Vuelta with Stage 4 Win!

Primoz Roglic is back to his best form, he put on a very strong performance, to take the sprint win on the uphill slopes to Laguardia to become the new race leader

Primoz Roglic Stamps authority on La Vuelta with Stage 4 Win!

A six man breakaway went up the road early on including; Joan Bou (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Jarrad Drizners (Lotto Soudal), Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team), Alessandro De Marchi (Israel - Premier Tech), Ander Okamika (Burgos-BH) and James Shaw (EF Education-EasyPost).

With Lutsenko threatening the GC and the red jersey the group was not given much freedom, with Jumbo-Visma, Trek-Segafredo and BORA-hansgrohe controlling the race.

The heat, rolling terrain and wind played into what was a very tough day. The breakaway was caught early on, before the start of the penultimate climb, with a peloton that was split up due to the high pace. When the pace was not high, it allowed several sprinters to get back in contact with the peloton.

Quick-Step tried to split the peloton on the penultimate descent which failed.

The favourites went into the final climb together with some moves early on, but the pace was easy until the final few hundred meters, with Trek leading out the sprint.

Pedersen was launched perfectly into a sprint, but he could not sustain the same power as Primoz Roglic, who came round himon the steeper final gradient.

Primoz Roglic sprinted with 100m to go on the final climb, with Pedersen grabbing another second place and Enric Mas in third place.

Roglic is the new leader of the Vuelta with most of the GC favorites within a minute of his lead.

VIDEO: 2022 La Vuelta Stage 4 Highlights

2022 La Vuelta Stage 4 Top 10

1 SLO Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma 03:31:05
2 DEN Mads Pedersen Trek-Segafredo + 00
3 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 00
4 FRA Quentin Pacher Groupama-FDJ + 00
5 FRA Pavel Sivakov INEOS Grenadiers + 00
6 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 00
7 GBR Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers + 00
8 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team + 00
9 NED Wilco Kelderman BORA-hansgrohe + 00
10 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 00

2022 La Vuelta GC after Stage 4

01 SLO Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma 11:50:59
02 USA Sepp Kuss Jumbo-Visma + 13
03 GBR Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers + 26
04 FRA Pavel Sivakov INEOS Grenadiers + 26
05 GBR Tao Geoghegan Hart INEOS Grenadiers + 26
06 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team + 27
07 ECU Richard Carapaz INEOS Grenadiers + 33
08 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 33
09 DEN Mads Pedersen Trek-Segafredo + 34
10 GBR Simon Yates Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 51

Tag: vuelta
Nov 04 2022 - NEWS: Rumoured Tourmalet stage finish at the 2023 Vuelta a EspaƱa
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel seals Vuelta a Espana Victory!
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!
Sep 09 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead
Sep 08 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel closer to outright La Vuelta victory with stage 18 win
Sep 07 2022 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta
Sep 06 2022 - NEWS: Pedersen Wins Sprint, Evenepoel Punctures and Roglic Crashes!
Sep 04 2022 - NEWS: Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada!
Sep 03 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel cracks! Carapaz Attacks! Roglic takes back time!
Sep 02 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen soars to Victory on uphill finish In Montilla
Sep 01 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz cracks out huge comeback as Evenepoel crashes
Aug 31 2022 - NEWS: Kaden Groves wins stage 11 as Yates and Alaphilippe leave La Vuelta
Aug 30 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial
Aug 28 2022 - NEWS: Meintjes conquers Les Praeres as Evenepoel takes time on his GC rivals
Aug 27 2022 - NEWS: Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 29 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Vuelta a San Juan
Aug 26 2023 - EVENT: 2023 La Vuelta
Sep 09 2023 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala