Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish

Jay Vine (Alpecin-Deceuninck) took his second victory atop the Colláu Fancuaya after attacking his breakaway companions on Stage 8 in the Asturias Mountains

Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish

Stage 8 was a difficult day with 3,300m of climbing through the Astoria Mountains with four climbs and a mountain top finish.

The opening climb of the Alto de la Colladona saw some harsh attacks, with a large group going up the road early on which forced Quick-Step to push the pace hard towards the summit in order to keep the lead safe for Evenepoel.

Eventually 10 riders got away including, Alexey Lutsenko, Mads Pedersen, Mikel Landa, Thibaut Pinot, Sébastien Reichenbach, Bruno Armirail, Rein Taaramäe, Lucas Hamilton, Marc Soler and Jay Vine.

Pedersen was there to collect the intermediate sprint points.

The peloton was happy with the breakaway who aimed to stay away for the stage win. The breakaway survived and hit the bottom of the final climb with almost four minutes.

Alexey Lutsenko attacked first with seven kilometers to go, however Jay Vine put in a brutal attack and soloed to the finish with six kilometers to go.

Marc Soler briefly looked as if he might close th gap to Vine, but it was no match for the Australian, who rode for the stage win in relative comfort.

Soler rode into second place whilst Rein Taaramäe finished third.

Behind Remco Evenepoel attacked and took Primoz Roglic, Enric Mas and Carlos Rodriguez with him.

Thibaut Pinot survived from the breakaway to take some time.

Remco Evenepoel crossed the line in 5th with Enric Mas (Movistar) and Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) behind him.

VIDEO: 2022 La Vuelta Stage 8 Highlights

2022 La Vuelta Stage 8 Top 10

1 AUS Jay Vine Alpecin-Deceuninck 04:05:25
2 ESP Marc Soler UAE Team Emirates + 43
3 EST Rein Taaramäe Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert + 43
4 FRA Thibaut Pinot Groupama-FDJ + 47
5 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team + 01:20
6 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 01:20
7 SLO Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma + 01:20
8 GBR Simon Yates Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 01:33
9 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 01:33
10 SUI Sebastien Reichenbach Groupama-FDJ + 01:42

2022 La Vuelta GC after Stage 8

01 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 29:28:19
02 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 28
03 SLO Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma + 01:01
04 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 01:47
05 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 02:02
06 GBR Simon Yates Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 02:05
07 POR Joao Almeida UAE Team Emirates + 02:44
08 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 02:51
09 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 02:59
10 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM + 03:18

Tag: vuelta
Nov 04 2022 - NEWS: Rumoured Tourmalet stage finish at the 2023 Vuelta a EspaƱa
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel seals Vuelta a Espana Victory!
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!
Sep 09 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead
Sep 08 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel closer to outright La Vuelta victory with stage 18 win
Sep 07 2022 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta
Sep 06 2022 - NEWS: Pedersen Wins Sprint, Evenepoel Punctures and Roglic Crashes!
Sep 04 2022 - NEWS: Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada!
Sep 03 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel cracks! Carapaz Attacks! Roglic takes back time!
Sep 02 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen soars to Victory on uphill finish In Montilla
Sep 01 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz cracks out huge comeback as Evenepoel crashes
Aug 31 2022 - NEWS: Kaden Groves wins stage 11 as Yates and Alaphilippe leave La Vuelta
Aug 30 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial
Aug 28 2022 - NEWS: Meintjes conquers Les Praeres as Evenepoel takes time on his GC rivals
Aug 27 2022 - NEWS: Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 29 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Vuelta a San Juan
Aug 26 2023 - EVENT: 2023 La Vuelta
Sep 09 2023 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala