Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial

Remco Evenepoel powered to victory on the individual time trial on stage 10 to extend his overall lead in the Vuelta a Espana

Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial

The Belgian finished 48 seconds ahead of Slovenia's three-time Vuelta champion Primoz Roglic who climbs to second in the general classification.

Evenepoel led at each checkpoint and almost caught Spain's Enric Mas at the finish.

The 22-year-old's average speed of over 55.6km/h saw him collect his first stage win at a Grand Tour and relegated Roglic into second.

Roglic has previously won four Vuelta time trials and four in the Itzulia Basque Country race.

"That is a big surprise," said Evenepoel. "It is super nice to win the time trial in the red jersey, "I am so happy to take a stage win. I have achieved my dream and now we are going to fight and try to win this Vuelta. The whole team is super confident."

Evenepoel leads Roglic in the race for the red jersey by two minutes and 41 seconds, with Mas in third three minutes and three seconds behind.

Floris De Tier (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Edoardo Affini (Jumbo-Visma), Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers), Jarrad Drizners, Harry Sweny (Lotto Soudal), José Herrada (Cofidis) and Mathias Norsgaard (Movistar) didn't start due to illness or positive COVID-19 tests.

Thirteen of the 21 retirements since the Vuelta started in Utrecht on 19 August 19 have been related to the disease.

In July, seventeen riders had to abandon the Tour de France due to COVID, including Britain's four-time winner Chris Froome.

On Wednesday the race travels 191.2km from ElPozo Alimentacion to Cabo de Gata, a flat stage where the sprinters should shine at the finish line.

VIDEO: Stage 10 Highlights

Stage 10 Results

1. Remco Evenepoel (Bel/Quick-Step-Alpha Vinyl) 33mins 18secs
2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +48secs
3. Remi Cavagna (Fra/Quick-Step-Alpha Vinyl) +1min
4. Carlos Rodriguez (Spa/Ineos Grenadiers) +1min 22secs
5. Pavel Sivakov (Fra/Ineos Grenadiers) +1min 27secs
6. Lawson Craddock (US/BikeExchange-Jayco) +1min 37secs
7. Simon Yates (GB/BikeExchange-Jayco) +1min 42secs
8. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +1mins 46secs
9. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +1mins 47 secs
10. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +1min 51secs

General Classification after Stage 10

1. Remco Evenepoel (Bel/Quick-Step-Alpha Vinyl) 34hrs 35mins 50secs
2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +2mins 41secs
3. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +3mins 03secs
4. Carlos Rodriguez (Spa/INEOS Grenadiers)+3mins 55secs
5. Simon Yates (GB/BikeExchange-Jayco)+4mins 50secs
6. Juan Ayuso (Spa/UAE Team Emirates) +4mins 53secs
7. Joao Almeida (Por/UAE Team Emirates) +6mins 45secs
8. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +6mins 50secs
9. Pavel Sivakov (Fra/Ineos Grenadiers) +7mins 06sec10 . Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +7mins 37secs

Tag: vuelta
Jan 29 2023 - NEWS: Miguel Ángel López wins the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 28 2023 - NEWS: Sam Wlesford takes surprising stage win at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 27 2023 - NEWS: Miguel Angel Lopez attacks to win Queen Stage and take Leader's Jersey
Jan 25 2023 - NEWS: Fernando Gaviria finally gets a stage win at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 24 2023 - NEWS: Quinn Simmons attacks in the last km to win stage 3
Jan 23 2023 - NEWS: Fabio Jakobsen wins Stage 2 Sprint at the Vuelta San Juan
Jan 22 2023 - NEWS: Sam Bennett sprints to 2023 Vuelta San Juan Stage 1 Victory
Jan 10 2023 - NEWS: Brutal climbs of the Tourmalet and l'Angliru feature in 2023 Vuelta a Espana
Dec 22 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel confirms season debut at the Vuelta San Juan
Nov 04 2022 - NEWS: Rumoured Tourmalet stage finish at the 2023 Vuelta a EspaƱa
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel seals Vuelta a Espana Victory!
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!
Sep 09 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead
Sep 08 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel closer to outright La Vuelta victory with stage 18 win
Sep 07 2022 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 26 2023 - EVENT: 2023 La Vuelta
Sep 09 2023 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala