Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta

Rigoberto Uran edged out breakaway companions Quentin Pacher and Jesus Herrada to win the uphill stage to Monasterio de Tentudía

The big news of the day was Primoz Roglic abandoning the race following the injuries sustained in yesterday's high speed crash. Primoz Roglic's crash on the 16th stage proved too much to continue the race, and the leader of Jumbo-Visma abandoned the race.

Fatigue has started to set in some more riders aswell, Bryan Coquard and Filippo Conca did not take to the start of stage 17 - the latter because of Covid-19. Rein Taaramäe left the race early on in the day aswell.

Today's stage was ripe for a breakaway, everyone knew this, which led to a very fast and aggressive start. 13 riders eventually got away; Lawson Craddock, Clément Champoussin, Bob Jungels, Gino Mäder, Rigoberto Urán, Quentin Pacher, Alessandro De Marchi, Kenny Elissonde, Marc Soler, Élie Gesbert, Simon Gugliemi and Fred Wright.

The peloton let the gap grow to nearly 7 minutes, with the win certain to come from the breakaway, no one including Quickstep were concerned even with 11th placed GC Urán up front.

The attacks in the breakaway started in the final 30 kilometers with Lawson Craddock repeatedly attempting to get away, eventually the American attacked alone and started the final climb with a slim advantage of13s.

Before the final steep four kilometers Urán, Gesbert and Champoussin attacked to catch Craddock, but the gap remained in the final 3 kilometers as Soler, Herrada and Elissonde bridged across to the trio.

With a kilometer to go Urán and Herrada caught Craddock, but the attacks kept on coming. Herrada made a move which seemed decisive but Urán countered a got  gap, the Colombian managed to take the win, beating Quentin Pacher and Jesús Herrada.

Behind, Movistar Team set up a move for Enric Mas, however with Remco Evenepoel promptly responded.

João Almeida took advantage and attacked the pair to take some seconds on his rivals.

Evenepoel led the rest of the GC group into the finish, having contained the other attacks.

Stage 18 from Trujillo to Alto del Piornal will be a tough and very beautiful stage. This will be a day for the favourites and their teams to work on their strategies if they want to shake up the general classification.

VIDEO: Stage 17 Highlights

Stage 17 Top 10

1 COL Rigoberto Uran EF Education-EasyPost 03:42:28
2 FRA Quentin Pacher Groupama-FDJ + 00
3 ESP Jesus Herrada Cofidis + 02
4 ESP Marc Soler UAE Team Emirates + 15
5 FRA Kenny Elissonde Trek-Segafredo + 26
6 FRA Clément Champoussin AG2R Citroën Team + 29
7 ITA Alessandro De Marchi Israel-Premier Tech + 46
8 LUX Bob Jungels AG2R Citroën Team + 55
9 FRA Elie Gesbert Team Arkéa-Samsic + 01:09
10 USA Lawson Craddock Team BikeExchange-Jayco + 01:30

GC after Stage 17

01 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 65:14:05
02 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 02:01
03 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 04:51
04 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 05:20
05 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 05:33
06 POR Joao Almeida UAE Team Emirates + 06:51
07 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM + 07:46
08 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 09:11
09 COL Rigoberto Uran EF Education-EasyPost + 09:23
10 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 11:40

Tag: vuelta
Dec 20 2023 - NEWS: Route for 2024 La Vuelta announced in Madrid
Nov 04 2023 - NEWS: Spanish Island of Mallorca Sets Sights on La Vuelta A España Return
Oct 03 2023 - NEWS: Vuelta a España champion Sepp Kuss gets Homecoming Party in Durango
Sep 17 2023 - NEWS: American Sepp Kuss wins Vuelta in Jumbo-Visma clean sweep
Sep 16 2023 - NEWS: Sepp Kuss kissing Vuelta Victory as Poels takes stage 20
Sep 15 2023 - NEWS: Team dsm-firmenich take another brilliant Vuelta stage win with Alberto Dainese
Sep 14 2023 - NEWS: American Sepp Kuss closes in on Vuelta a Espana glory
Sep 13 2023 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic takes victory on Altu de L’Angliru on stage 17
Sep 12 2023 - NEWS: Vingegaard attacks teammate Kuss to take Stage 16 win
Sep 10 2023 - NEWS: Rui Costa wins Vuelta stage 15 as American Kuss keeps the Red Jersey
Sep 09 2023 - NEWS: Evenepoel fights back to take stage win and King of the Mountains jersey
Sep 08 2023 - NEWS: Jonas Vingegaard solos to Victory atop the Coldu Tourmalet in Jumbo-Visma 1-2-3
Sep 07 2023 - NEWS: Molano sprints to victory on stage 12 of Vuelta a Espana
Sep 06 2023 - NEWS: Jesus Herada climbs to Victory atop La Laguna Negra
Sep 05 2023 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna wins Time Trial as Sepp Kuss hangs onto Red Jersey
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 17 2024 - EVENT: 2024 La Vuelta Espana
Sep 07 2024 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala
Sep 08 2024 - EVENT: La Vuelta Holanda Breda