Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory as  Remco Evenepoel retains lead

Pedersen stamped his authority on the Green Jersey win his third stage win, beating Fred Wright and Gianni Vermeersch on Stage 19

Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead

Stage 19 was a day where the breakaway and the GC riders had the opportunity to attack, but the GC riders preferred to stay calm and in the peloton. A bunch sprint decided the outcome of the day, and Mads Pedersen stormed to his third win in the race.

The day seemed to be one where the breakaway could succeed with certainty, but the efforts to control the breakaway early in the day saw only a trio go up the road with Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), Ander Okamika (Burgos-BH) and Jonathan Caicedo (EF Education-EasyPost). Some more riders tried to jump across to the front, but without success.

Trek - Segafredo, with an unexpected opportunity to go for another stage win, controlled the pace throughout the first half of the stage. In the final climb Bahrain - Victorious picked up the pace to try and reduce the bunch and give Fred Wright a better chance of winning, however the pace wasn't hard enough to cause any big casualties within the peloton.

Movistar Team accelerated towards the final summit, but the race calmed down on the descent once again with Trek - Segafredo setting the pace.

It was a controlled leadout until the final kilometer where Miles Scotson launched an early sprint, but Pedersen came round and held is lead all the way to the line, beating Fred Wright and Gianni Vermeersch.

VIDEO: Stage 19 Highlights

Stage 19 Top 10

1 DEN Mads Pedersen Trek-Segafredo 03:19:11
2 GBR Fred Wright Bahrain Victorious + 00
3 BEL Gianni Vermeersch Alpecin-Deceuninck + 00
4 GBR Ben Turner INEOS Grenadiers + 00
5 NED Mike Teunissen Jumbo-Visma + 00
6 GER Jonas Koch BORA-hansgrohe + 00
7 ISR Omer Goldstein Israel-Premier Tech + 00
8 ESP Raúl García Equipo Kern Pharma + 00
9 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 00
10 NED Dylan van Baarle INEOS Grenadiers + 00

GC after Stage 19

01 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 73:18:23
02 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 02:07
03 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 05:14
04 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 05:56
05 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 06:49
06 POR Joao Almeida UAE Team Emirates + 07:14
07 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM + 08:09
08 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 09:34
09 COL Rigoberto Uran EF Education-EasyPost + 09:56
10 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 12:03

Tag: vuelta
Dec 20 2023 - NEWS: Route for 2024 La Vuelta announced in Madrid
Nov 04 2023 - NEWS: Spanish Island of Mallorca Sets Sights on La Vuelta A España Return
Oct 03 2023 - NEWS: Vuelta a España champion Sepp Kuss gets Homecoming Party in Durango
Sep 17 2023 - NEWS: American Sepp Kuss wins Vuelta in Jumbo-Visma clean sweep
Sep 16 2023 - NEWS: Sepp Kuss kissing Vuelta Victory as Poels takes stage 20
Sep 15 2023 - NEWS: Team dsm-firmenich take another brilliant Vuelta stage win with Alberto Dainese
Sep 14 2023 - NEWS: American Sepp Kuss closes in on Vuelta a Espana glory
Sep 13 2023 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic takes victory on Altu de L’Angliru on stage 17
Sep 12 2023 - NEWS: Vingegaard attacks teammate Kuss to take Stage 16 win
Sep 10 2023 - NEWS: Rui Costa wins Vuelta stage 15 as American Kuss keeps the Red Jersey
Sep 09 2023 - NEWS: Evenepoel fights back to take stage win and King of the Mountains jersey
Sep 08 2023 - NEWS: Jonas Vingegaard solos to Victory atop the Coldu Tourmalet in Jumbo-Visma 1-2-3
Sep 07 2023 - NEWS: Molano sprints to victory on stage 12 of Vuelta a Espana
Sep 06 2023 - NEWS: Jesus Herada climbs to Victory atop La Laguna Negra
Sep 05 2023 - NEWS: Filippo Ganna wins Time Trial as Sepp Kuss hangs onto Red Jersey
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 17 2024 - EVENT: 2024 La Vuelta Espana
Sep 07 2024 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala
Sep 08 2024 - EVENT: La Vuelta Holanda Breda