Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!

Richard Carapaz started the Vuelta a Espana with the goal of winning it, and although he failed to contest the overall classification, he has succeeded as he took his third stage win at the Puerto de Navacerrada. Remco Evenepoel sealed the overall victory resisting attacks by Enric Mas

Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!

The start of the stage saw several attacks, with a small group going up the road and getting three minutes advantage, Marc Soler bridged across to the breakway, whilst several groups formed behind and started gaining distance on the peloton.

It was a chaotic first hour of racing, eventually Marc Soler and Robert Stannard went clear from the rest of the breakaway, a 24 rider group chasing. With 70 kilometers to go the duo was caught by the peloton, and despite several attacks, the situation remained relatively constant.

At the climb of the Puerto de la Morcuera, Richard Carapaz, Sergio Higuita and Louis Meintjes gwent clear from the breakaway. The trio went over the summit with just under two minutes lead over the GC group where Enric Mas attacked, as did Miguel ´Ángel López and Juan Ayuso, but all attacks were nullified by Remco Evenepoel. 

The trio entered the final ascent to Puerto de Cotos alone, Meintjes eventually dropped, and Richard Carapaz attacking near the summit of the final climb,  with the GC group just behinf. López and Mas attacked again but with no success, closing much of the gap but seeing little gaps between the top 10 riders, UAE took control of the group to protect Juan Ayuso's third place.

Carapaz got a gap of 25 seconds lead on the GC group on the final descent, behind Thymen Arensman attacked with three kilometers to go.

Ecuadorian Polka Dot jersey wearer Carapaz managed to hang onto his lead to take another impressive victory, his 3rd stage victory at this year's Vuelta.

Arensman took second place, with Juan Ayuso sprinting for third place, behin in the main GC group Remco Evenepoel arrived, and sealed the overall victory of the 2022 La Vuelta.

VIDEO: Stage 20 Highlights

Stage 20 Top 10

1 ECU Richard Carapaz INEOS Grenadiers 04:41:34
2 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM + 08
3 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 13
4 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 13
5 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 13
6 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team + 15
7 RSA Louis Meintjes Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert + 15
8 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 15
9 POR Joao Almeida UAE Team Emirates + 17
10 COL Sergio Higuita BORA-hansgrohe + 32

GC after stage 20

01 BEL Remco Evenepoel Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team 78:00:12
02 ESP Enric Mas Movistar Team + 02:05
03 ESP Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates + 05:08
04 COL Miguel Ángel López Astana Qazaqstan Team + 05:56
05 POR Joao Almeida UAE Team Emirates + 07:16
06 NED Thymen Arensman Team DSM + 07:56
07 ESP Carlos Rodriguez INEOS Grenadiers + 07:57
08 AUS Ben O'Connor AG2R Citroën Team + 10:30
09 COL Rigoberto Uran EF Education-EasyPost + 11:04
10 AUS Jai Hindley BORA-hansgrohe + 12:01

Tag: vuelta
Nov 04 2022 - NEWS: Rumoured Tourmalet stage finish at the 2023 Vuelta a EspaƱa
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel seals Vuelta a Espana Victory!
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz wins his third stage as Evenepoel seals overall victory!
Sep 09 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen storms to his third stage victory, Remco retains lead
Sep 08 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel closer to outright La Vuelta victory with stage 18 win
Sep 07 2022 - NEWS: Rigoberto Uran wins stage 17 from the breakaway as Roglic abandons La Vuelta
Sep 06 2022 - NEWS: Pedersen Wins Sprint, Evenepoel Punctures and Roglic Crashes!
Sep 04 2022 - NEWS: Thymen Arensman wins atop the monster climb of Sierra Nevada!
Sep 03 2022 - NEWS: Evenepoel cracks! Carapaz Attacks! Roglic takes back time!
Sep 02 2022 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen soars to Victory on uphill finish In Montilla
Sep 01 2022 - NEWS: Carapaz cracks out huge comeback as Evenepoel crashes
Aug 31 2022 - NEWS: Kaden Groves wins stage 11 as Yates and Alaphilippe leave La Vuelta
Aug 30 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel powers to victory at La Vuelta individual time trial
Aug 28 2022 - NEWS: Meintjes conquers Les Praeres as Evenepoel takes time on his GC rivals
Aug 27 2022 - NEWS: Jay Vine attacks to win his second mountain top finish
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Jan 29 2023 - EVENT: 2023 Vuelta a San Juan
Aug 26 2023 - EVENT: 2023 La Vuelta
Sep 09 2023 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala