USA's Tejay Van Garderen wins a stage of the Giro d'Italia

The long term hardship endured by BMC Racing's Tejay Van Garderen, paid off when he won stage 18 to Ortisei/St. Ulrich. Dumoulin retained the Pink Jersey

Tejay van Garderen went away on on the final climb with Team Sky's Mikel Landa from the breakaway. Van Garderen our sprinted Landa on the final hundred metres to take his first Gran Tour stage victory.

Behind the favorites dueled several times, with Quintana attacking again and getting a gap of 6 seconds.

It was short lived as Nibali and Dumoulin brought him back, only for Nibali to counter attack. The other favorites followed and next up was Dumoulin who attacked.

It end up the three favorites of Nibali, Quintana and Dumoulin marking each other's moves, as their other rivals got away and made up some time including; Thibot Pinot, Dommenico Pozzovivo, Inur Zakarin, Steven Kruijswijk and Bauke Mollema.

Thibaut Pinot took some time back from Vincenzo Nibali bringing him closer to a podium place.

Meanwhile Adam Yates took over the white leaders jersey from Bob Jungels.

A super happy Van Garderen said to the press "I do training camps here all the time so it's like training at home. It's been 8 years a professional and this is my first grand tour victory which is sucha greta feeling. There's been so many trials over the past few year and this certainly makes up for some of the lows."

Quintana said "We tried to attack today and create some chances, so it was a shame it didn't work out. The Movistar team are very strong, so we will try again."

2017 Giro d'Italia Stage 18 Top Ten

1 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 3:54:04 
2 Mikel Landa (Spa) Team Sky   
3 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:08 
4 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale   
5 Jan Hirt (Cze) CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:00:11 
6 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:00:24 
7 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:34 
8 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo   
9 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:01:06 
10 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team

2017 Giro d'Italia General Classification after Stage 18

1 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 80:00:48 
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:31 
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:01:12 
4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:01:36 
5 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:01:58 
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:07 
7 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:03:17 
8 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:05:48 
9 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 0:07:06 
10 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors

VIDEO: Stage 18 Highlights

VIDEO: Final Sprint

VIDEO: Tejay Van Garderen Interview

VIDEO: Tom Dumoulin Interview

Tag: giroditalia
Sep 24 2018 - NEWS: 2019 Giro d'Italia to start in Bologna with uphill time trial
May 27 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome joins Grand Tour Treble Club with Giro d'Italia win
May 26 2018 - NEWS: Froome secures Pink Jersey as Mikel Nieve wins final mountain stage
May 25 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome takes Queen Stage and Pink Jersey in Shock Attack
May 25 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome mocked by cycling fans on the Finestre with Huge Inhaler
May 24 2018 - NEWS: Simon Yates clings onto Pink Jersey ahead of Brutal Queen Stage
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Three Brutal Mountain Stages will leave no doubt in the Battle for Pink!
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Viviani wins fourth stage as yates retains Pink Jersey before the final big Mountain Stages
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages
May 20 2018 - NEWS: Simon Yates strengthens Giro lead with third stage win
May 19 2018 - NEWS: Chris Froome wins on the Zoncolan after wresting Dinosaur
May 18 2018 - NEWS: Brutal Monte Zoncolan the stage finish at today's Giro d'Italia
May 18 2018 - NEWS: Elia Viviani wins stage 13 as Simon Yates retains lead
May 17 2018 - NEWS: Igor Antón: How to win on the Monte Zoncolan
May 17 2018 - NEWS: Sam Bennett wins final sprint on rain soaked Imola Circuit
May 11 2019 - EVENT: 2019 Giro d'Italia
Tag: bmc
Apr 30 2018 - NEWS: Register now for the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo, Oct 27, Asheville NC
Aug 25 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis pulls on the Red Leaders Jersey at the Opening Vuelta Time Trial
Aug 20 2018 - NEWS: American's Bookwalter and Rosskopf support Richie Porte at La Vuelta
Aug 03 2018 - NEWS: Bookwalter, Rosskopf and van Garderen headline BMC at the Tour of Utah
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages
May 02 2018 - NEWS: Dennis and Roche head up BMC Racing Team's ambitions at the Giro d'Italia
Mar 07 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing win opening Team Time Trial at Tirreno-Adriatico
Feb 24 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis moves into race lead after individual time trial
Feb 22 2018 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to lead BMC Racing at opening Spring Classics weekend
Feb 15 2018 - NEWS: Brent Bookwalter Announces Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo & Warren Wilson College Partnership
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team recon the Cobbles ahead of the Classics
Jan 05 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster
Dec 03 2017 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet targets Strade Bianche and Tour of Flanders
Sep 28 2017 - NEWS: Join Brent Bookwalter and friends at the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo
May 01 2019 - EVENT: Greg Van Avermaet Classic
Aug 31 2019 - EVENT: Sven Nys Classic