Mathieu van der Poel to race 75th Editon of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Belgian Deceuninck – Quick-Step rider Zdenek Stybar is back and defend his title

This Saturday is the first big Flemish spring classics race. The city of Ghent and ‘t Kuipke are already preparing themselves to celebrate the 75th birthday of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. The provisional start list filled with big names who can turn this jubilee edition into an unforgettable race. According to the provisional list, Zdenek Stybar will have to put up with tough competition in his quest for another victory in Ninove.

->> Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclosportive Opens the Spring Classics Cycling Season for Amateur Cyclists <<-

Last year, the Belgian Deceuninck – Quick-Step rider Zdenek Stybar’s solo'd away to win. This Saturday February 29th the Czech will pin number 1 on his back and defend his title. He gets support from Lampaert, Jungels and Asgreen, who came second in the Tour of Flanders last year.

Within the other Belgian WorldTeam Lotto Soudal, all eyes are on the leader Philippe Gilbert. He can try to take the win in the opening classic together with his compatriot Tim Wellens.

Belgian Deceuninck – Quick-Step rider Zdenek Stybar is back and defend his title

Also among the other WorldTeams, Belgians are shining on the provisional list of participants. Jasper Stuyven and Edward Theuns will take the start next week at the side of none other than world champion Mads Pedersen for Trek-Segafredo.  At CCC Team, two-fold winner Greg Van Avermaet can become shared recordholder with a new victory. His all new team mate Trentin will support him. At AG2R La Mondiale we look forward to the brothers Naesen and their compatriot Vandenbergh. Another former winner can be found on the list of EF Pro Cycling. Sep Vanmarcke took the victory in the opening classic in 2012 and this year he can count on the support of Jens Keukeleire.

Tiesj Benoot, born and raised in Ghent, will be at the start for the first time for his new team Team Sunweb. At Bahrain – McLaren we look forward to Dylan Teuns, Sonny Colbrelli and Heinrich Haussler. The Spanish Movistar places its bets on Jürgen Roelandts, while the French Cofidis, who were rewarded a WorldTour license this year, counts on the Belgians Claeys and Vermote. Israel Start-Up Nation hold a WorldTour license for 2020 as well and they count on the German Nils Politt. At Team Ineos we see the familiar names of Ian Stannard and Luke Rowe. Team NTT deploys the winner of 2018, Michael Valgren, and Alexander Kristoff will be of service for UAE Team Emirates.

Many supporters are undoubtedly looking forward to Alpecin-Fenix, who will be at the start thanks to a wildcard. Last season, the dutchman Mathieu van der Poel took the victory in both Dwars door Vlaanderen and De Brabantse Pijl and this year he will be present at ‘t Kuipke as leader of this formation. Besides, he will be battling it out against that other dutchman who more than once shone in Flanders Classics races, Niki Terpstra from Total Direct Energie.

Tune in this Saturday 29 February to follow the race live!

Tag: classics
Jul 02 2020 - NEWS: Strade Bianche reveals 2020 race routes for both men and women
Jun 27 2020 - NEWS: 2020 World Championships in Switzerland to go ahead September 20-27
Jun 16 2020 - NEWS: Official dates confirmed for 2020 Italian WorldTour Races and GranFondo
Jun 12 2020 - NEWS: WorldTour racing Season gets underway in August as UCI Revises 2020 Calendar
Jun 06 2020 - NEWS: Paris-Roubaix Challenge postponed until Saturday October 24th
May 05 2020 - NEWS: Pro Cycling is Back as UCI announces revised 2020 WorldTour Racing Calendar
Apr 05 2020 - NEWS: Olympic Champion Greg Van Avermaet wins DeRonde 2020 Lockdown Edition
Apr 02 2020 - NEWS: 13 Top Pro's to race Virtual Tour of Flanders this Weekend!
Mar 28 2020 - NEWS: Rescheduled Summer and Fall UCI Pro Cycling Calendar Leaked
Mar 03 2020 - NEWS: Strade Bianche Pro Race is officially cancelled due to corona-virus fears
Feb 29 2020 - NEWS: Jasper Stuyven outsprints Yves Lampaert to win the 2020 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Mar 01 2020 - NEWS: Kasper Asgreen solos to dramatic and bold Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne Victory
Feb 24 2020 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel to race 75th Editon of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Feb 15 2020 - NEWS: Poggio Climb has been Repaired in Time for Milan – San Remo 2020
May 03 2020 - NEWS: WorldTour racing should restart with Strade Bianche on August 1st
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Mar 24 2017 - EVENT: The Dirty Devil
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Feb 23 2019 - EVENT: Rocheport Roubaix
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix