Davide Ballerini wins bunch sprint win at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Rare bunch sprint sees Deceuninck-Quick-Step take control and deliver Ballerini to the finish line

Davide Ballerini wins bunch sprint win at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

The Omloop Het Nieuwsblad marked the start of the European cycling season and after a long winter away from racing, the peloton was ready to get on the road again. The race featured thirteen tough climbs, each getting harder as the race went on and the kilometres started to add up. With nine cobblestone sections adding to the difficulty, and some of these ridden twice, this 201km parcours would hit the riders hard.

The break formed within the first 10km and this group of five quickly set about building an advantage of almost nine minutes. This gap didn’t trouble the peloton, with the race favourites knowing the action would start in the last 50km, but just to be safe, upped the pace a little to bring the escape down to a more manageable six minutes with 100km remaining, before pulling them to a little more than a minute with 50km left.

The fast pace led to some nervous moments in the bunch, and a crash brought down BORA-hansgrohe’s Marcus Burghardt, forcing his retirement from the race. As the race sped towards the finale, with 43km left, a small group pushed on hard, sweeping up the break before Julian Alaphilippe went off the front solo and the new escape group fought among themselves to make the catch.

With Ide Schelling on the front of the peloton, the BORA-hansgrohe riders were pushing the pace and this surge in speed brought the race back together at the foot of the Kapelmuur with 20km left.

With no-one managing to escape again, the peloton settled in for a bunch sprint and around 50 riders crested the Bosberg 13 kms out from the finish line, where Deceuninck-Quick-Step Italian Florian Sénéchal led out Davide Ballerini to take an impressive sprint win.

Groupama-FDJ’s Jake Stewart was second and Sep Vanmarcke (Israel Start-Up Nation) settled for third.

Heinrich Haussler managed fourth for Bahrain-Victorious, while Lotto-Soudal’s Philippe Gilbert was fifth.

Deceuninck – Quick-Step brought the race to the rest of the peloton all day, the world champion Julian Alaphilippe animating the racing from the front as he first breakaway before going solo.

The race came back together andAlexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) suffered a mechanical for in the final couple of kilometres.

Ballerini was the best sprinter left in the pack, with a great lead-out, he took his third win this year with two stage victories at the Tour de La Provence.

VIDEO: 2021 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Highlights

2021 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Top 10

1. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, in 4-43-03
2. Jake Stewart (GBr) Groupama-FDJ, "
3. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Israel Start-Up Nation "
4. Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Bahrain-Victorious "
5. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Lotto-Soudal "
6. Alex Aranburu (Esp) Astana – Premier Tech "
7. Florian Sénéchal (Fra) Deceuninck – Quick-Step "
8. Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates "
9. Kevin Geniets (Lux) Groupama-FDJ "
10. Nils Politt (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe, "

Tag: classics
Dec 01 2021 - NEWS: Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne will kickstart the 2022 Classics Season
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour de France LIVE Daily Coverage
Oct 10 2021 - NEWS: Pogacar outsprints Masnada to win IL Lombardia
Oct 03 2021 - NEWS: Colbrelli wins a Sunday in Hell at a Wet and Windy Paris-Roubaix
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Classics LIVE Daily Coverage
Sep 30 2021 - NEWS: Strong Winds and Rain Forecast for Paris-Roubaix
Sep 29 2021 - NEWS: VIDEO: Watch the 2021 Men's and Women's Elite UCI Road Races
Aug 04 2021 - NEWS: 2021 Paris-Roubaix Preview: The Route and the Riders
Sep 26 2021 - NEWS: France's Alaphilippe retains men's UCI World Championship Title
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Men's Elite UCI World Championship Road Race LIVE
Sep 25 2021 - NEWS: Italian Balsamo wins Women's Elite UCI World Road Race Title
Sep 22 2021 - NEWS: Il Lombardia Reverses Route for Bergamo Finish
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: La Vuelta LIVE Daily Coverage
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Benelux LIVE Daily Coverage
Jul 31 2021 - NEWS: American Neilson Powless wins Clásica San Sebastián 2021
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix
Feb 02 2020 - EVENT: Hemel Hempstead CC Reliability Rides
Feb 16 2020 - EVENT: Willesden CC Reliability Rides
Tag: omloop
Feb 27 2021 - NEWS: Davide Ballerini wins bunch sprint win at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Feb 23 2019 - NEWS: Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Kick-starts the European Classics Season
Feb 27 2018 - NEWS: 3,500 cyclotouristes braved the cold at the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo
Feb 26 2022 - EVENT: 2022 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Feb 27 2022 - EVENT: Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Cyclo