Dylan Van Baarle solos 50k to Dwars door Vlaanderen victory

Dylan Van Baarle gambled on a 52km solo break to win Dwars door Vlaanderen after more than a dozen tricky cobbled climbs

Also known as the ‘Around Flanders’ the 180km race is a precursor to the Tour of Flanders on Sunday, and many of the contenders for the event competed in the sunshine through the lush-green fields here.

Van Baarle broke free with 52km to go with most of the 13 hills (bergs) ahead of him. His relenteless effort kept the peloton at bay, including world champion Julian Alaphilippe and Mathieu van der Poel. The peloton and chase group eventually gave up with 10 km to go.

Van Barle said after his win, “To win a semi-classic is super special. It’s really important. Last year was a difficult year with everything that happened, but now we are on the good way, we’re approaching the classics a bit differently this year – much more attacking. It’s nice to race like this. I’m happy I could finish it off.”

Annemiek van Vlueten won the women’s race earlier in the day beating Kasia Niewiadoma in a long range sprint after the pair powered away from the rest of the breakaway.

VIDEO: 2021 Dwars door Vlaanderen Highlights

2021 Dwars door Vlaanderen Top 10

1 Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Ineos Grenadiers 3:58:59
2 Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis 0:00:26
3 Tim Merlier (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
4 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Deceuninck-QuickStep
5 Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
7 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) AG2R Citroën Team
8 Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie
9 Florian Senechal (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep
10 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 

Tag: classics
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Giro LIVE Daily Coverage
Apr 24 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel stuns his rivals with Liege-Bastogne-Liege attack
Apr 20 2022 - NEWS: Dylan Teuns the strongest on Mur de Huy and wins Fleche Wallonne
Apr 17 2022 - NEWS: Dylan Van Baarle wins Paris-Roubaix classic
Apr 16 2022 - NEWS: Elisa Longo Borghini wins 2022 Paris-Roubaix Femmes
Apr 14 2022 - NEWS: Who are the bookies' favourites to win 2022 Paris-Roubaix?
Apr 13 2022 - NEWS: American Magnus Sheffield wins De Brabantse Pijl with a Solo Attack
Apr 10 2022 - NEWS: Kwiatkowski wins Amstel Gold with a bike throw after 250km of racing
Apr 06 2022 - NEWS: Alexander Kristoff attacks breakaway companions to take Scheldeprijs!
Apr 03 2022 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel wins the Tour of Flanders
Apr 03 2022 - NEWS: Biniam Girmay receives hero’s welcome in Eritrea
Apr 01 2022 - NEWS: Van der Poel, Pogacar, and Asgreen favorites for the Tour of Flanders
Mar 30 2022 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel wins 76th Dwars door Vlaanderen
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: The Classics
Mar 26 2022 - NEWS: Van Aert praises team effort after E3 Saxo Bank Classic victory
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix
Feb 02 2020 - EVENT: Hemel Hempstead CC Reliability Rides
Feb 16 2020 - EVENT: Willesden CC Reliability Rides