Wout Van Aert wins Omloop Het Nieuwsblad with devastating attack

The Belgium powerhouse powered away from his rivals on the Bosberg, none of them could go with him

Wout Van Aert wins Omloop Het Nieuwsblad with devastating attack

A brilliant attack from the pack from Wout van Aert (Team Jumbo–Visma) saw him leave his rivals in his dust and win Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, the opening classics race, for the first time.
With 12km to go Van Aert attacked at the base of the Bosberg and broke away, forcing the chasing group to do whatever it took to respond.But none of the pack could go with him, and they were all left chasing with no attempt to counter his move.
Van Aert comfortably saw out the win, building a big lead over the chasing pack and coming home for his first victory at Omloop.
Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Victorious) won the bunch sprint to take second place, with Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën) third.
Van Aert's win represented a first win for a Belgian national champion at the race for 33 years.
After the race Wout van Aert expressed his solidarity with the people of Ukraine following the Russian invasion. "I want to say one more thing: bike racing is the most important side issue in the world, with the emphasis on side issue. It's just madness that war is still possible today, and so close. For what it's worth, I would like to express my support to everyone involved in Ukraine."

VIDEO: 2022 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Highlights

2022 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Top 10

1 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma 4:50:48
2 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain Victorious 0:00:22
3 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) AG2R Citroen Team
4 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R Citroen Team
5 Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6 Rasmus Tiller (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
7 Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
8 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Intermarch?-Wanty-Gobert Mat?riaux
9 Florian Senechal (Fra) Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team
10 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
Tag: classics
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: 2023 Tour de France Route Presentation
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Giro Livestream
Oct 09 2022 - NEWS: Arnaud Démare defends crash marred Paris-Tours title
Oct 08 2022 - NEWS: Tadej Pogacar defends Il Lombardia title against Enric Mas
Sep 11 2022 - NEWS: Tadej Pogacar outsprints Wout van Aert at the GP de Montréal
Sep 10 2022 - NEWS: Benoit Cosnefroy sprints to Grand Prix de Quebec in Style
Apr 24 2022 - NEWS: Remco Evenepoel stuns his rivals with Liege-Bastogne-Liege attack
Apr 20 2022 - NEWS: Dylan Teuns the strongest on Mur de Huy and wins Fleche Wallonne
Apr 17 2022 - NEWS: Dylan Van Baarle wins Paris-Roubaix classic
Apr 16 2022 - NEWS: Elisa Longo Borghini wins 2022 Paris-Roubaix Femmes
Apr 14 2022 - NEWS: Who are the bookies' favourites to win 2022 Paris-Roubaix?
Apr 13 2022 - NEWS: American Magnus Sheffield wins De Brabantse Pijl with a Solo Attack
Apr 10 2022 - NEWS: Kwiatkowski wins Amstel Gold with a bike throw after 250km of racing
Apr 06 2022 - NEWS: Alexander Kristoff attacks breakaway companions to take Scheldeprijs!
Apr 03 2022 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel wins the Tour of Flanders
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix
Feb 02 2020 - EVENT: Hemel Hempstead CC Reliability Rides
Feb 16 2020 - EVENT: Willesden CC Reliability Rides