Richie Porte attacks to take Willunga Hill

Richie Porte of BMC Racing Team won the stage to Willunga Hill and extended his lead in the overall classification

The Australian attacked from a small remainning group with 2 kilometers to go on the steep slopes of Willunga Hill and quickly got  a gap on his closest rivals.

Porte, supported by teammate Rohan Dennis, finished 20 seconds ahead of Nathan Haas (Dimension Data), Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott), Diego Ulissi (UAE Abu Dhabi) and Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe).

Defending champion Simon Gerrans crossed the line at 3'31" behind Porte and has no change of reaching the podium..

Porte secured the King of the Mountains jersey too and only needs to keep out of trouble in the final criterium to take overall victory.

He leads rival Chaves by a comfortable 48 seconds.

"To win the stage like that is great," he said. "I get the accolades up there on the podium as the winner, but I can't say enough for my teammates. Each and every one of them put me in a great position today and it's just nice to finish it off. With one day to go I'd love to win this race. I'm so happy."

"It was the hardest climb up Willunga Hill that I've had so far. I didn't want to go so early but I didn't think they would attack so early on Willunga Hill. I was in a world of pain there. But the other guys were more stuffed than I was so I think that was the perfect moment to go."

"Tomorrow's not a procession. I'm in a good position and I think I can stay out of trouble. I just want to finish it off tomorrow. I've always wanted to win this race since I raced it with UniSA. I've said it before, I'd love to have my name up there."

The final stage, taking place on a circuit in Adelaide, is mostly flat and is not expected to further influence the general standings.

Stage Five

1. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC Racing) 3hr 40min 13sec
2. Nathan Haas (AUS/Dimension Data) at 20 seconds
3. Esteban Chaves (COL/Orica-Scott) same time
4. Diego Ulissi (ITA/UAE Abu Dhabi) s.t.
5. Jay McCarthy (AUS/Bora-hansgrohe) s.t.
6. Nathan Earle (AUS/UniSA) +23
7. Rafael Valls (ESP/Lotto Soudal) s.t.
8. Sergio Henao (COL/Team Sky) s.t.
9. Robert Gesink (NED/Lotto-NL-Jumbo) s.t.
10. Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED/Cannondale-Drapac) s.t.

General Classification

1. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC Racing) 18hr 0min 21sec
2. Esteban Chaves (COL/Orica-Scott) at 48 seconds
3. Nathan Haas (AUS/Dimension Data) +51
4. Jay McCarthy (AUS/Bora-Hansgrohe) +54
5. Diego Ulissi (ITA/UAE Abu Dhabi) +59
6. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC Racing) +1.02
7. Rafael Valls (ESP/Lotto Soudal) same time
8. Robert Gesink (NED/Lotto-NL-Jumbo) s.t.
9. Wilco Kelderman (NED/Team Sunweb) s.t.
10. Nathan Earle (AUS/UniSA) +1.06

King of the Mountain

1. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC Racing) 32pts
2. Thomas De Gendt (BEL/Lotto Soudal) 32pts
3. Esteban Chaves (COL/Orica-Scott) 22pts


1. Caleb Ewan (AUS/Orica-Scott) 45pts
2. Nathan Haas (AUS/Team Dimension Data) 39pts
3. Danny van Poppel (NED/Team Sky) 39pts

VIDEO: Tour Down Under Stage 5 Highlights

Tag: tourdownunder
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster
Nov 30 2017 - NEWS: Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank Announces Roster For Santos Women's Tour Down Under
Nov 16 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan sets his sights on the Australian season
Oct 10 2017 - NEWS: Peter Sagan will start 2018 season at Tour Down Under
Jan 23 2017 - NEWS: Richie Porte believes he can beat Chris Froome at the Tour de France
Jan 22 2017 - NEWS: Richie Porte wins Santos Tour Down Under
Jan 21 2017 - NEWS: Richie Porte attacks to take Willunga Hill
Jan 20 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Scores Hattrick as Porte Leads
Jan 19 2017 - NEWS: Second for Peter Sagan on stage 3 of the Tour Down Under
Jan 19 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan wins Crash Marred Stage 3
Jan 18 2017 - NEWS: BORA's Jay McCarthy fights for time bonuses at Tour Down Under
Jan 18 2017 - NEWS: BMC's Richie Porte wins Stage 2 after Solo Attack Down Under
Jan 17 2017 - NEWS: Amanda Spratt wins Santos Women's Tour
Jan 17 2017 - NEWS: Caleb Ewan Wins a Hot First Stage
Jan 17 2017 - NEWS: Cylance Pro Cycling Goes 1-2 in Adelaide
Jan 16 2018 - EVENT: 2018 Santos Tour Down Under
Tag: livestream
May 10 2017 - NEWS: Brutal last week at the Giro d'Italia
May 19 2017 - NEWS: George Bennett time trials into yellow at Big Bear lake
May 19 2017 - NEWS: Gaviria wins his fourth stage before the peloton hits the Brutal mountain stages
May 18 2017 - NEWS: Andrew Talansky Takes Mount Baldy Stage Win
May 17 2017 - NEWS: Rally Cycling One - Two on stage four of the Tour of California
May 17 2017 - NEWS: Omar Fraile wins dramatic 11th stage at the Giro d'Italia
May 16 2017 - NEWS: Tom Dumoulin Takes Maglia Rosa After Stage 10 Victory
May 16 2017 - NEWS: Rafal Majka makes his mark in the mountains, taking stage victory and GC lead at Tour of California
May 16 2017 - NEWS: Toms Skujins crashes heavily at the Tour of California
May 15 2017 - NEWS: Anna van der Breggen wins Amgen Women’s Race
May 13 2017 - NEWS: USA's Coryn Rivera from Team SubWeb wins stage 3
May 12 2017 - NEWS: Katie Hall wins the Queen Stage
May 11 2017 - NEWS: Megan Guarnier wins uphill sprint at South Lake Tahoe
May 11 2017 - NEWS: Silvan Dillier claims his first Grand Tour stage win
May 09 2017 - NEWS: Jan Polanc wins stage 4 on Mount Etna
Tag: bmc
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster
Dec 03 2017 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet targets Strade Bianche and Tour of Flanders
Sep 28 2017 - NEWS: Join Brent Bookwalter and friends at the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo
Oct 05 2017 - NEWS: Samuel Sanchez Sacked after B- Sample Positive Confirmed
Sep 06 2017 - NEWS: VIDEO: Bookwalter lucky to be alive after crash at the Tour of Britain
Aug 24 2017 - NEWS: Van Garderen fights on after crashing twice at the Vuelta
Aug 19 2017 - NEWS: BMC Racing wins opening Team Time Trial in Nimes
Aug 17 2017 - NEWS: Sanchez out of the Vuelta after positive dope test
Aug 13 2017 - NEWS: BMC Racing's Manuel Senni wins inaugural Colorado Classic
Aug 08 2017 - NEWS: Stefan Kung takes ITT and the Lead at BinckBank Tour
Aug 04 2017 - NEWS: Dylan Teuns wins the Tour de Pologne
Aug 01 2017 - NEWS: Brent Bookwalter takes Tour of Utah Stage Two Victory
Aug 01 2017 - NEWS: Hermans Suffers Multiple Fractures in Tour of Poland Crash
Jul 28 2017 - NEWS: Bookwalter and Rosskopf headline Tour of Utah Start List
Jul 26 2017 - NEWS: Bookwalter signs contract extension with BMC Racing
May 01 2018 - EVENT: Greg Van Avermaet Classic
Sep 01 2018 - EVENT: Sven Nys Classic