Rohan Dennis pulls on the Red Leader's Jersey at the Opening Time Trial

Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) the fastest over the 8km time trial ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) and Victor Campenarts (Lotto Soudal)

Last year, Dennis took the Red Jersey after winning the Team Time Trial with BMC but this year it's all his own effort.

For this first stage of the 2018 Vuelta, the route was short, but not necessarily sweet. At 8km, the distance itself wouldn’t be testing, but on an Individual Time Trial, the course doesn’t have to be long to be hard. While flat from start to finish, with barely a rise in gradient on the Malaga street circuit, there were a few sections where riders could be caught out. In the first few kilometres, the stage would take in the harbour headland – the most exposed section of the parcours – before heading back along the coast and then further inland. The flat terrain and wide open roads meant high speeds were likely, and the possibility of being the first to wear the red jersey of race leader would make riders push that little bit harder.

Dennis one of the last 10 riders to roll down the ramp, overhauled everyone, with just Vincenzo Nibali left on the course.

Dylan van Baarle (Team Sky) set the early fastest time under ten minutes on tne 8km course.

Next Nelson Oliveira (Movistar) was next to to go faster in a time of 9m 56s, but Team Sky's Kwiatkowski, who beat the Portuguese riders’ time by ten seconds.

Victor Campenaerts (Lotto-Soudal) came close juts 1 second slower, but it was Rohan Dennis who went faster with a time of 9m 39m to take the overall lead.

Dennis now has a complete set of Grand Tour leaders jersey's for the Giro, Vuelta and Tour de France.

Tomorrow's stage 2 from Marbella to Caminito del Rey is 163.9 kms and features a short punchy summit finish and will allow a climber or puncheur to win the stage.No doubt BMC will be looking to defend the leader's jersey.

VIDEO: 2018 La Vuelta Stage 1 Highlights

2018 La Vuelta Stage 1 Top 10

1 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:09:39 
2 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky 0:00:06 
3 Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:07 
4 Nelson Oliveira (Por) Movistar Team 0:00:17 
5 Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Team Sky 0:00:20 
6 Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:00:21 
7 Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Team Sky   
8 Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Sunweb   
9 Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida 0:00:22 
10 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb  

Tag: vuelta
Dec 17 2021 - NEWS: Dutch Delight As 2022 Vuelta A Espana Route Revealed
Dec 02 2021 - NEWS: 39th Edition of Vuelta San Juan will kickstart 2022 Racing Season
Sep 15 2021 - NEWS: Dutch start for 2022 Vuelta a España
Sep 05 2021 - NEWS: Slovenia's Primoz Roglic wins third straight Vuelta a Espana title
Sep 05 2021 - NEWS: Miguel Ángel López abandons Vuelta a España whilst being 3rd overall
Sep 04 2021 - NEWS: Champoussin wins Stage 20 as Lopez Storms off out of La Vuelta
Sep 03 2021 - NEWS: Dane Magnus Cort Nielsen makes it a Hat Trick at La Vuelta
Sep 02 2021 - NEWS: Superman Lopez wins brutal stage up everyone's new favorite climb: the Altu d’El Gamoniteiru
Sep 01 2021 - NEWS: Roglic dominates in mountains to take back the Red Jersey
Aug 31 2021 - NEWS: Jakobsen's incredible comeback as he wins his third La Vuelta Sprint
Aug 29 2021 - NEWS: Rafal Majka climbs to victory as Vuelta heads into final brutal week
Aug 28 2021 - NEWS: Romain Bardet climbs to stage 14 Victory at La Vuelta
Aug 27 2021 - NEWS: Senechal wins sizzling Vuelta sprint as Jakobsen falls flat
Aug 26 2021 - NEWS: Cort Nielsen wins second stage sprint on La Vuelta Stage 12
Aug 25 2021 - NEWS: Primoz Roglic wins on the final wall of Valdepeñas de Jaén on Stage 11
Jun 30 2014 - RESULTS: Vuelta Keystone Gran Fondo
Aug 19 2022 - EVENT: 2022 La Vuelta
Sep 17 2022 - EVENT: Vuelta Chapala
Oct 22 2022 - EVENT: La Vuelta Mayakoba
Tag: bmc
Jan 03 2019 - NEWS: New Year, New Team, New Kit and New Opportunities for Brent Bookwalter
Dec 14 2018 - NEWS: CCC Brings Orange Back to the World Tour After Taking Over BMC
Apr 30 2018 - NEWS: Register now for the Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo, Oct 27, Asheville NC
Aug 25 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis pulls on the Red Leaders Jersey at the Opening Vuelta Time Trial
Aug 20 2018 - NEWS: American's Bookwalter and Rosskopf support Richie Porte at La Vuelta
Aug 03 2018 - NEWS: Bookwalter, Rosskopf and van Garderen headline BMC at the Tour of Utah
May 23 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Giro d'Italia Time Trial ahead of final mountain stages
May 02 2018 - NEWS: Dennis and Roche head up BMC Racing Team's ambitions at the Giro d'Italia
Mar 07 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing win opening Team Time Trial at Tirreno-Adriatico
Feb 24 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis moves into race lead after individual time trial
Feb 22 2018 - NEWS: Greg Van Avermaet to lead BMC Racing at opening Spring Classics weekend
Feb 15 2018 - NEWS: Brent Bookwalter Announces Bookwalter Binge Gran Fondo & Warren Wilson College Partnership
Jan 20 2018 - NEWS: BMC Racing Team recon the Cobbles ahead of the Classics
Jan 05 2018 - NEWS: Rohan Dennis wins Third Consecutive Australian National Time Trial
Dec 11 2017 - NEWS: BMC Reveals New Kit and Tour Down Under Roster
Aug 31 2019 - EVENT: Sven Nys Classic
May 17 2020 - EVENT: Greg Van Avermaet Classic