Limited Places - REGISTER NOW!
United States >> 2024 Pro Cycling Classics

Benoît Cosnefroy wins 64th edition of De Brabantse Pijl

The Frenchman was the fastest in a sprint from a 7 man group and beat Dylan Teuns and Tim Wellens

Benoît Cosnefroy wins 64th edition of De Brabantse Pijl

Benoît Cosnefroy (Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale) emerged victorious from an open edition of De Brabantse Pijl, sprinting to victory from a seven-man group in Overijse.

The French puncheur was one of a number of riders to bridge to the lead group following the key climb of the Moskesstraat, and out-kicked his rivals in the home straight beyond the crest of the late S-Bocht climb.

Dylan Teuns (Israel-Premier Tech) was forced to bow his head as Cosnefroy roared past as Tim Wellens (UAE Team Emirates) clinched the final spot on the podium.

“I feel at home at this race,” said Cosnefroy, explaining his victory salute of pointing down towards the tarmac, having clinched his first victory after three previous podiums.

“I’m very very happy to win here. It’s never easy to win a race and this one was very hard to read. When I was able to get across to the group it was perfect, and I was confident in my sprint. I wanted to get in the wheel of Dylan and when he launched I thought it was maybe too late but with the headwind, I was able to gain speed and get around him.”

2024 De Brabantse Pijl Top 10

1 COSNEFROY Benoît Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team 4H 17' 02"
2 TEUNS Dylan Israel-Premier Tech "
3 WELLENS Tim UAE Team Emirates "
4 BLACKMORE Joseph Israel-Premier Tech "
5 CEPEDA Jefferson Caja Rural-Seguros RGA "
6 HERMANS Quinten Alpecin-Deceuninck "
7 VAN DEN BERG Marijn EF Education-EasyPost + 10"
8 MATTHEWS Michael Team Jayco-AlUla + 28"
9 BRAET Vito Intermarché-Wanty "
10 STRONG Corbin Israel-Premier Tech "

2024 Pro Cycling Classics Lastest News