2021 Gran Fondo Virtual World Championship®
United States >> 2020 Pro Cycling Classics LIVE Coverage


For sound, please un-mute on the video controls. Please click here to refresh the video if play stops. 

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, 196 km

13:10 US Eastern, 16:10 Europe -  Top 10

13:02 US Eastern, 16:02 Europe -  Italian Ballerini from Quickstep wins Omloop Het Nieuwsbad!

13:01 US Eastern, 16:01 Europe -  Quickstep leadout!

13:00 US Eastern, 16:00 Europe -  Another crash, Mechanical for Kristoff!

12:57 US Eastern, 15:57 Europe -  2 kms to go!

12:57 US Eastern, 15:57 Europe -  Coquard and Kristoff are in this 1st group.

12:48 US Eastern, 15:48 Europe -  Huge group with 5 kms to go, bunch sprint!

12:47 US Eastern, 15:47 Europe -  A huge group of around 60 riders altogether with 13kms to go, this should be fasinating!

12:46 US Eastern, 15:46 Europe -  13 kms to go, mainly downhill and a very big group which is unusual

12:46 US Eastern, 15:46 Europe -  Moscon closed on top of the Bosberg. Kung at his wheel.

12:38 US Eastern, 15:38 Europe -  Alaphilippe is back and peloton is back. All together before the Muur

12:35 US Eastern, 15:35 Europe -  14 s for Alaphilppe group with 30 kms to go.

12:18 US Eastern, 15:18 Europe -  Alaphilippe, Van Mark and Trentin in this front group of 12 riders

12:18 US Eastern, 15:18 Europe -  25 seconds for the leaders now with 35km to go.

12:15 US Eastern, 15:15 Europe -  36 to go, 13''. Alaphilippe working in 1st peloton. 

12:03 US Eastern, 15:03 Europe -  Trentin attacks on Molenberg!

12:02 US Eastern, 15:02 Europe -  44 to go. Kooij (TJV) and Jacobs (MOV) attacking from peloton. Another crash behind

11:35 US Eastern, 14:35 Europe -  Alaphilippe is second wheel on the Wolvenberg with his teammate setting him up. The break are at 1'16 with 53km to go.

11:35 US Eastern, 14:35 Europe -  The peloton hit the climb and Pedersen is positioned right at the front for Trek-Segafedo.

11:35 US Eastern, 14:35 Europe -  Onto the Valkenburg for the leaders and they're really starting to struggle at this point.

11:35 US Eastern, 14:35 Europe -  The break are losing time steadily with the gap at 2'14 with 65km to go.

11:24 US Eastern, 14:24 Europe -  Riders are being dropped all over the place as with 71km to Asgreen hits the front and sets the pace. 

11:24 US Eastern, 14:24 Europe -  Slovenia's Tour de France champion Tadej Pogacar won cycling's season-opening UAE Tour after Australian Caleb Ewan claimed Saturday's seventh stage sprinting honours in Abu Dhabi

11:16 US Eastern, 14:16 Europe -  75km to go and we have had our obligatory Sep Vanmarcke crash. The pace at the front of the peloton is seriously high and the breakaway is coming close to within 3 minutes. The season starts now!!

11:15 US Eastern, 14:15 Europe -  75 kms to go and the race really hots up as the bergs come thick and fast!

11:15 US Eastern, 14:15 Europe -  Right at the back and Van Avermaet is making contact with the peloton after his spill.

11:13 US Eastern, 14:13 Europe -  80 to go, first live images are on. 3'58'' for the breakaway

11:13 US Eastern, 14:13 Europe -  Asgreen and Doull have come down in a fall alongside more riders. Frison is down, same with Vanmarcke and Van Avermaet. The latter two are back on their bikes. 

10:53 US Eastern, 13:53 Europe -  We now have live images above, enjoy!

10:50 US Eastern, 13:50 Europe -  The breakaway; Fedorov (APT), Gibbons (TFS), De Ketele (SVB), De Backer (BBK), Louvel (ARK) 6m lead.

10:45 US Eastern, 13:45 Europe -  Astana through the feedstation

10:45 US Eastern, 13:45 Europe -  We race through through feedzone with just over 100km to and the Katteberg up next on the menu. 

10:45 US Eastern, 13:45 Europe -  The gap to the break is slowly coming down, it's at 6'10 now. 

10:45 US Eastern, 13:45 Europe -  Tim Declercq is still on the front and crushing the dreams of the riders in the break. He's been on the front for about 40km and shows no sign of weakening. Meanwhile his team leader Alaphilippe is sheltering in the peloton and getting ready for the final set of climbs, where he will no doubt try and break up the race.

10:36 US Eastern, 13:36 Europe -  Meanwhile, Pogacar is crowned the overall winner of the 2021 UAE Tour, while Caleb Ewan wins the final stage ahead of Sam Bennett.

10:35 US Eastern, 13:35 Europe -  Back in Belgium and more and more riders are starting to shed layers of clothing. 113km to go in the race and the gap is at 6'50.

10:25 US Eastern, 13:25 Europe -  Update - Live Coverage Starts: 05:00 Pacific, 08:00 Eastern, 13:00 UK, 14:00 Europe

10:25 US Eastern, 13:25 Europe -  We're onto Den Ast, the second climb of the day as Deceuninck-QuickStep continue to set the pace at the head of the peloton. 

10:25 US Eastern, 13:25 Europe -  The bunch have shaved a full minute off the break's lead with the gap down to 7'10 as Alaphilippe's team turn the screw and put the pressure on the five riders up the road.

09:55 US Eastern, 12:55 Europe -  A few riders from Jumbo-Visma have moved towards the front as well as the action begins to heat up. We've still around 135km to go. Meanwhile, we're into the final 25km in the UAE.

09:22 US Eastern, 12:22 Europe -  Deceuninck-Quick Step are content to just let the break sit there at eight minutes for the time being. There's little reaction from the rest of the field at this point.

09:22 US Eastern, 12:22 Europe -  Breakaway: Fedorov (APT), Gibbons (TFS), De Ketele (SVB), De Backer (BBK), Louvel (ARK) 8'10'' the gap.

09:09 US Eastern, 12:09 Europe -  Opening weekend is here and we couldn’t be more excited to kick back on the couch, beer and frites (let’s be serious – hot chips) in hand ready to watch the action on our favourite cobbled roads of Flanders.

09:09 US Eastern, 12:09 Europe -  Hello, welcome to coverage of the first cobbled classic race of the 2021 season, Omloop Het Niewsblad!

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad marks the opening of the Belgian cycling calendar and features a lot of climbs from the Tour of Flanders. The Wall of Geraardsbergen/Bosberg combo marked the finale of the last three editions.

Favourites for the win:

***** Greg Van Avermaet, Julian Alaphilippe
**** Tim Wellens, Jasper Stuyven, Sep Vanmarcke
*** Oliver Naesen, Mads Pedersen, Nils Politt, Alexander Kristoff, Matteo Trentin, Gianni Moscon
** Ivan Garcia, Zdenek Stybar, Thomas Pidcock, Tiesj Benoot, Jasper Philipsen, Florian Senechal
* Niki Terpstra, Philippe Gilbert, Kasper Asgreen, Jake Stewart, Sonny Colbrelli, Christophe Laporte

2020 Pro Cycling Classics Lastest News